Strange IP behaviour

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Lapwolf
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Northern California

Strange IP behaviour

Post by Lapwolf » Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:57 pm

My HW setup is DSL modem->Ooma Hub->Router.

I installed a new router (running Tomato) and noticed something very strange. While the Ooma hub was set with a Home IP Port of 172.27.35.1 and a DHCP range of 172.27.35.10-160, My router shows a WAN IP of 172.27.36.3 and a WAN Gateway of 172.27.36.1.

This makes it very difficult to range DHCP down to a single IP and put that IP in the DMZ to attempt making Dynamic DNS work. Am I missing something? Has anyone else noticed this anomaly?

Thanks!!

Lapwolf
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Northern California

Re: Strange IP behaviour

Post by Lapwolf » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:48 am

I'm the only person experiencing this? Really?

Has anyone actually had any success with DDNS without putting the hub behind the router?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Strange IP behaviour

Post by murphy » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:57 am

If you are using DynDNS, run their free client software on a computer. It is the only client that I have seen that works properly. Every router that I have seen that has a built-in DDNS client has it implemented incorrectly. They all report the IP address the router got for it's WAN port instead of asking the DynDNS server what the external IP address is.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

erics
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 3:01 am

Re: Strange IP behaviour

Post by erics » Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:34 pm

I've experienced this exact same behavior; see this post for details viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8690&p=60766#p60766 .

In my case, the router (Airport Extreme) is setup for PPPoE authentication, and the ooma Telo is in automatic mode. I will soon place the ooma in PPPoE mode, and change the settings accordingly on my router.

Is your setup similar in this regard?

Lapwolf
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Northern California

Re: Strange IP behaviour

Post by Lapwolf » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:22 pm

My router is an Asus RT-N16 running tomato. My router IS setup for PPPoE and I did nothing for the setup of the hub in this regard. As such, it's not clear to me how authentication is handled with my ISP for DSL.

I will most likely move the hub behind the router as tomato has great QOS facilities and I would rather run my home network this way if phone quality is good.

Post Reply