installing hub after modem

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

installing hub after modem

Post by cjw7 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:16 am

How do I do this? I can't get it to work. I am having problems with the call quality and internet pages loading slowly, and there is nothing wrong with the wiring since I don't have any problems w/ internet loading when I unhook the ooma.
I have the hub first, then the modem, and I see many people posting that they have the modem first, but I can't figure out how to do that.

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by murphy » Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:53 am

What is your ISP? DSL, cable, FIOS?
It is not possible to put the hub in front of a modem.
Are you calling a router a modem?
The input to a cable modem is a coaxial cable connection.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by cjw7 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:26 pm

What is your ISP? DSL, cable, FIOS? cable
It is not possible to put the hub in front of a modem. why do I read some people doing this? I guess I don't understand.
Are you calling a router a modem? I only have the modem/ router combo in one
The input to a cable modem is a coaxial cable connection

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by cjw7 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:27 pm

It is not possible to put the hub in front of a modem.

I guess this is for when people have a separate router, right?

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by highq » Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:42 pm

cjw7 wrote:It is not possible to put the hub in front of a modem.

I guess this is for when people have a separate router, right?
Well no. A modem transform signals between your cable or DSL or other circuit to the world on its outside connection, and ethernet connections inside your premises. A router is a device on the inside, it can't be "in front" of a modem.

Ooma devices, in addition to dealing with audio signals to/from telephones, are also Routers.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by cjw7 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:58 pm

whatever it is called, I only have the DLink DCM-202 and the hub.

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by murphy » Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:33 pm

cjw7 wrote:whatever it is called, I only have the DLink DCM-202 and the hub.
The Dlink DCM-202 is a cable modem. It is not a combo unit.
Apparently you don't have a router.
The Modem/Internet port of the Ooma is connected to the LAN port of the modem.
Do NOT connect anything to the USB port of the modem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: installing hub after modem

Post by cjw7 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:43 pm

that is the way it is set up..I was just wondering if there was a different setup I could try since the call quality is bad and my internet loads slowly sometimes. The wiring is not the problem since I have no problems with the internet when the ooma is not connected.

Post Reply