Ooma goes internationally

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
khmer.ooma
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:32 pm

Ooma goes internationally

Post by khmer.ooma » Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:50 pm

can i buy the unit and set up out side of u.s ? i know it will work but just one a second openion or any sugesstion anyone may have.
:?

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma goes internationally

Post by murphy » Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:47 am

It will work as long as the country you are in does not block the required ports.
Countries that have state operated telephone systems seem take a dim view of VOIP.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

mthomtech
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Ooma goes internationally

Post by mthomtech » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:55 pm

I can verify that it works in the following countries, as I used Telo on a recent trip:

Czech Republic
Austria
Germany
Italy
Switzerland

Before I left I was unsure of the Czech Republic (because of the issues that murphy mentions), so I contacted the American Embassy to verify that it was legal to bring and use VOIP equipment. I know it's legal in EU countries. Countries with state run telco companies may be the ones that try and block VOIP.

Which countries are you wondering about?
Ooma Customer since March 2009
Ooma Hardware: Hub/Scout(2) and Telo
Premier Member

khmer.ooma
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 7:32 pm

Re: Ooma goes internationally

Post by khmer.ooma » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:52 pm

i'm thing installing with U.S number for example 971-544-8976 then take to cambodia using this # so i can contact with my family. so one unit each end.

:P

mthomtech
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Ooma goes internationally

Post by mthomtech » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:27 pm

Cambodia seems to have several VOIP providers, so I'd think Ooma would work fine there.

A great idea for calling your family!
Ooma Customer since March 2009
Ooma Hardware: Hub/Scout(2) and Telo
Premier Member

Post Reply