Scout: all lights blinking

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
jmwhite5
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 6:45 pm

Scout: all lights blinking

Post by jmwhite5 » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:15 pm

I have a support ticket in for a problem with my scout where all the lights are blinking. I've uploaded a clip on YouTube that captures the problem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoiQ41L588o

I installed the hub without a problem. It is up and running. However, the scout is just not working. It never worked. The "1" and "2" lights first come on after powering up the unit, then after a few seconds, the trash can and the envelop buttons light up, followed by the light show.

I'll update with info I get from support.

but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Scout: all lights blinking

Post by but2002 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:53 am

Sounds like the problem the guy had here.
http://forums.ooma.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2704

He fixed it simply by pressing buttons. I do recommend you read through the whole topic though.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Scout: all lights blinking

Post by southsound » Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:01 am

jmwhite5 wrote:I have a support ticket in for a problem with my scout where all the lights are blinking. I've uploaded a clip on YouTube that captures the problem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoiQ41L588o

I installed the hub without a problem. It is up and running. However, the scout is just not working. It never worked. The "1" and "2" lights first come on after powering up the unit, then after a few seconds, the trash can and the envelop buttons light up, followed by the light show.

I'll update with info I get from support.
This may or may not be related to the problem the poster had in but2002's reference. That scout HAD worked but stopped. Your scout has never worked. I'd be interested to know how you have connected up the scout to the hub. Some questions before I give a testing tip:

1. How are the scout and hub connected?
2. Is anything else running the pair of wires between the two devices?
3. Do you have DSL?
4. Do you have an integrated landline?
5. Are you feeding ooma dialtone from the phone port throughout the house?

And here is my testing tip: Try moving the scout right next to the hub. Connect the wall port of each with a short phone cord. No splitters. Does the scout work in that scenario? If it does, it is a wiring problem and based on the questions above, I think we can get you up and running.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply