1 and 2 Solid Red

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
RockoF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:37 pm

1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by RockoF » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:30 am

Hi -

There have been several similar issues all with different resolutions so wanted to post my situation as well.

Activated ooma with a NEW phone number (and will keep any landline conversation out of this to help eliminate variables).

Have a 2Wire integrated DSL modem/router with SBC (ATT) service. With this, there's no choice but to have ooma behind the router. (trying to avoid swapping this out at this point)

Opened up all UDP and TCP ports required by ooma (per tech article) on router's firewall.

Restart all components and ooma tab blinks red while 1 and 2 remain solid red.

Notes: Router assigns 192.168.1.79 to ooma however ooma's IP range is in the 172s. Navigating to these IPs listed result in the same as navigating to setup.ooma.com where the status remains "registering ...". MAC addr. is correct.

Any thoughts in helping resolve this problem are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:43 am

Did you register your hub before you hooked up the equipment?
Use a magnifying glass on the MAC address on the bottom the hub since B and 8 are easily confused.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by niknak » Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:22 am

...B and 8 are easily confused...
same for D and 0

RockoF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by RockoF » Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:58 am

ooma was activated before hooking up. Have asked CS for MAC as I could not find a place in the lounge to verify against the sticker. Anyone know where this info can be found or is CS the only place?

Saw in another thread that this info "would be something useful to display to the user" but did not know if implemented.

Thanks for the replies.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:02 am

No Customer Service is the only source for this particular problem.
888-711-6662

Wayne

RockoF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by RockoF » Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:19 pm

Thanks for the #. After calling ooma, I indeed typed an 8 where these should have been a B in the MAC address. As far as I'm concerned, both looking at the box and ooma sticker, it's an eight...however my router doesn't lie.

Not to beat a dead horse but this really needs to be addressed. The rep was able to look up my point of purchase etc. How about having the customer enter more than just MAC to check against? If you don't want S/N's flying all over the net, a simple checksum (plenty of MD5 samples out there) will do.

Well now I wait up to 48 hours for someone to be able to update the MAC over at ooma. Still looking forward to being part of the community - thanks for the replies.

User avatar
thbjr
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by thbjr » Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:26 pm

Glad you found the solution. Shame it takes up to 48hrs.
Welcome to the forum.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by tommies » Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:47 pm

IMHO, it easy to confuse between B and 8, or D and 0. However it easier to see them at b and 8, or d and 0.

It's perfectly ok to write hex number in lower case lether (abcdef), and ooma should consider this
tommies

RockoF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:37 pm

Re: 1 and 2 Solid Red

Post by RockoF » Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:16 pm

Agreed!

Post Reply