Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#67825 by murphy
Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:32 am
Bill1426 wrote:Is it possible to use another ATA device (Cisco ATA-186) with Ooma service ??

No.
#67826 by DTMF
Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:52 am
Not yet. I look forward to the day I can add my Ooma account to the Snom 320 in my avatar. :cool:
#67828 by southsound
Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:24 am
About a year ago I believe that someone from ooma (might have been Rich Buchanan, now passed) mentioned they were considering opening things up to a byod model - but in my own mind, the support structure needed to make that work for the masses would eat up any potential profits. When I log in to my PAP2T-NA I get several pages where I can adjust things. Multipy that by maybe 15 supported devices and add some real newbies to the mix and all of a sudden you have a company in a nosedive financially. I'm still pretty new to the underhood side of VoIP but I'm technically inclined and I am able to play around pretty well with configuring my ATA. On the other hand, most of ooma's target market want to just plug the box in and make phone calls.

ooma has a pretty good model now - they configure their network, routing, servers, firmware updates and ATA's all from their end. They have a pretty good way of rolling out a release - first to internal alpha testers, then to external beta testers, then to pilot users and finally the general base. Although there are still occasional hiccups, the process works pretty well.

And, yes, as DTMF suggests, if they ever do open it up, I'm there!
#67859 by pinan
Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:16 pm
I'd love to put my PAP2's and/or SPA 2102's to use with Ooma. They run cooler, as well as all of the other benefits. :-)
#67963 by DTMF
Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:31 pm
southsound wrote:ooma has a pretty good model now - they configure their network, routing, servers, firmware updates and ATA's all from their end.