Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
cmeisel
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:20 am

Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by cmeisel » Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:20 pm

It appears I can only access setup.ooma.com via IE.
In all Chroms Browsers and on the iPhone and iPad safari it only displays HTML.
Given that this happens with several browsers it looks like an ooma problem

cmeisel
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:20 am

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by cmeisel » Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:31 pm

Only the Bluetooth section renders correctly in safari and chrome

murphy
Posts: 7206
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by murphy » Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:38 am

The site works fine in Firefox.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

n8399
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:43 am

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by n8399 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:39 am

Select Open in new IE tab from setup.ooma.com link right context menu to bypass Chrome rendering flaw

cmeisel
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:20 am

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by cmeisel » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:37 am

setup.ooma.com is displaying in IE and FireFox but not Chrome or Safari. There is no rendering flaw it Chrome or Safari. Ooma has to simply fix this.

n8399
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:43 am

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by n8399 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:50 am

cmeisel wrote:setup.ooma.com is displaying in IE and FireFox but not Chrome or Safari. There is no rendering flaw it Chrome or Safari. Ooma has to simply fix this.
Web search "browser html rendering problems" shows Firefox, Chrome and other browsers may have web page rendering Issues not limited to Ooma Setup.
Posted simple solution using Chrome extension works for me. http://www.gtricks.com/google-chrome-tr ... or-chrome/
Select Open in new IE tab from setup.ooma.com link right context menu to bypass Chrome rendering flaw

cmeisel
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:20 am

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by cmeisel » Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:26 pm

a chrome IE extension is not useful if you want to use an iphone or ipad to modify your ooma setup page.
The bottom line is that Ooma can code this page in a way that it will 100 display in any browser currently on the market.
That is especially easy to do given that the setup page is a rather simple page.

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by Davesworld » Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:09 pm

Works fine in Konqueror using either the default khtml engine (webkit is derived from this) or webkit running on Linux. Opera on Linux or Win7 and all browsers I have tried that use the gecko engine. I willl note that IE8 renders and misrenders web pages just like any khtml or webkit engine does

n8399
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:43 am

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by n8399 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:13 am

9.http://www.google.com/chrome/intl/en/we ... testrender
"If your site isn't rendering properly in any browser, make sure your HTML and CSS are valid by testing them at http://validator.w3.org/."
Reported HTML 4.01 Transitional: 28 Errors, 14 warning(s) for Setup Ooma

rolyatag
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:00 pm

Re: Setup.ooma.com IE only?

Post by rolyatag » Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:03 pm

Other than on the Bluetooth page, there is no DOCTYPE, opening html, or opening head tag in the source code of the page - which is probably why Chrome does not render the pages.

Ooma really needs to fix this.

Post Reply