Reboots (turns red for 30 secs, then blue) 100+ times a day

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
rocktheboat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:13 am

Reboots (turns red for 30 secs, then blue) 100+ times a day

Post by rocktheboat » Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:17 am

My ooma suddenly Reboots (turns red for 30 secs, then blue) 50 times a day.

This happens if i plug it in to my router.
This happens if i plug it directly to my cable modem.
I have tried the hold the blue tab to reset the device...no change.
I tried to assign in a static IP...no change.
I have tried to have the router give it a IP based on its MAC...no change.

There is no correlation, as to whether the device "reboots" when it comes to others on the internet at all.

My upload is 5000, download is 450.
We are on time warner-roadrunner)

The device only started doing this, in the last 3 weeks.
It's clicked red and blue, twice in the time i have written this note!

PLEASE HELP US!

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Reboots (turns red for 30 secs, then blue) 100+ times a day

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:38 pm

Either ooma is losing connection to the network OR it is losing power.
Check your power connection, make sure the power supply is plugged in snug at both ends. You might wiggle the wire to make sure you have a solid connection.

Wayne

rocktheboat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:13 am

Re: Reboots (turns red for 30 secs, then blue) 100+ times a day

Post by rocktheboat » Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:07 pm

power supply is rock solid.
its not like the device ever loses power...
it just goes from solid blue....
to blinking red....
all day long!

(and obviously, red means no calls)
any idea how long it might take for someone from customer
service to email back?
(i submitted the problem there as well...
but no luck on a response yet)

thanks!

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Reboots (turns red for 30 secs, then blue) 100+ times a day

Post by southsound » Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:20 pm

Sounds like you may need a replacement hub. If you bought it locally and can return it, I would suggest an exchange. If you bought it from Costco, order another one online and return your old one to any Costco. When you get the new one, ooma can assign your existing ooma number to the new hub. If the power supply, Internet connection, and all else seems ok, the hub sounds like the next thing to try. If you have time, try calling support tomorrow and see if they have any other ideas. 1 888 711-6662. Be prepared for a wait, but you will reach a live, English-speaking person.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply