Block display of caller-ID for outbound calls - not working

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
akajustm
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:17 pm

Block display of caller-ID for outbound calls - not working

Post by akajustm » Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:29 pm

It appears that on October 2, the privacy feature (blocking my outgoing caller ID) stopped working. My number shows up even though the radio button to block display of my outgoing caller ID is selected. I have unselected and reselected and it changes nothing. I am able to call numbers that reject anonymous calls so I know it's not working. Even if I dial *67 before the number, my info is NOT blocked. I have 2 Ooma's and this is happening on both of them, our outgoing caller ID block DOES NOT WORK.
Any ideas?

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Block display of my caller-ID for outbound calls -not workig

Post by southsound » Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:52 pm

I guess that explains why my probation officer was able to find me at home today. (Just joking, of course.)

1. Do you have the Telo or the hub? (Sorry, just checked - you have two hubs).
2. Check the status page of setup.ooma.com and see what version you are running. Maybe others with your software can chime in on their experiences.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

akajustm
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: Block display of caller-ID for outbound calls - not working

Post by akajustm » Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:41 am

1. Yes 2 hubs
2. setup.ooma.com and the ip addresses of each of the oomas just times out. They are behind a router if that helps any.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Block display of caller-ID for outbound calls - not working

Post by murphy » Tue Oct 05, 2010 4:14 am

Are you connecting a computer to the Home port of each hub to access it's setup web page?
Are you using OpenDNS or any of it's competitors?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

akajustm
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:17 pm

Re: Block display of caller-ID for outbound calls - not working

Post by akajustm » Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:58 am

@ Murphy, nope.
So I connected to the home port and one here's the software info
Rev: 39884.39884 for both units.

From the looks of things (call logs) this happened within the few days, before that it was working fine.
To add further detail and confusion, it now appears that landlines do not see my number or name, cell phones and other oomas get my number but no name. If I manually block my number (*67) landlines still see nothing, cell phones see my name and number and oomas get my number.
So no matter how you look at the situation, unless I'm calling a landline the feature is not working correctly.

Post Reply