Keeping landline and using Ooma

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
luvalaff
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by luvalaff » Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:16 pm

thank you everyone. i just got the unit today and have been a little overwhelmed, but this helps.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:31 pm

Good luck, we'll try to help smooth out the bumps along the way! :-)

Wayne

Boodles
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by Boodles » Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:35 am

Thanks all for the info. I'm curious tho - we have two new hd direct tv pvr and neither of them is plugged in to a phone line. My old ones were but not these .... do they download differently with the new units???

Nancy

trim81
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:14 pm

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by trim81 » Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:38 am

new dvr can be plugged directly into your router via Ethernet....no phone line needed

Boodles
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by Boodles » Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:06 am

My hd dvr are not plugged in to anything.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:23 am

I heard that the new ones update via satelite.

Wayne

Boodles
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:07 am

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by Boodles » Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:31 am

WayneDsr wrote:I heard that the new ones update via satelite.

Wayne
thanks - that must be it.

luvalaff
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by luvalaff » Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:41 am

WayneDsr wrote:Yes, put a splitter on the PHONE plug on the back of your hub and share this with your present phone and the phone wall jack of your house. This will make any phone jack in your house a hub connection. Extra Scouts not needed.
I don't use this setup, but have heard in the forums that it works.

Wayne
Will the phone jacks still work if we cancel the AT&T phone?

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:31 pm

Sure will.

Wayne

TonyB
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: Keeping landline and using Ooma

Post by TonyB » Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:35 pm

Wayne, this is helpful information, thank you. I'm contemplating if I should go outside now with my headlamp to give this a try...

Including our DirecTV TiVo, we have 5 total source points for call generation/reception. All 5 of these have lines running to the phone company's junction box on the exterior of the house. We still have a landline, but will cancel it and go dryloop DSL if the Ooma continues to shine. It has been about a week, and so far, it has been fantastic.

With the wiring config I explained, would the splitter recommendation you provided work (activate Ooma on all house jacks on the network)?

I appreciate the help.

Post Reply