Using a Credit Card Machine with an Ooma?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
suttung
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:42 pm

Using a Credit Card Machine with an Ooma?

Post by suttung » Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:16 pm

Has anyone tried using a credit card machine with their Ooma? If so- what was your experience?

I have a Hypercom t7Plus... I was thinking about going all Ooma for the home office, but if I can't use my credit card machine, I'll be locked into having to keep 1 line...

Thanks!

User avatar
circlef
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Burbank, CA
Contact:

Re: Using a Credit Card Machine with an Ooma?

Post by circlef » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:15 pm

Hi,

When we went ALL OOMA, we upgraded our terminal to an ethernet model. Works great and fast.

Alan
Member since January 2009 - Yep!
Premier Member - Yep! - Core and Scout =2 - Yep!
Saving Money - Yep! a lot - Love Ooma - You Bet!

daet
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Metairie, LA

Re: Using a Credit Card Machine with an Ooma?

Post by daet » Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:03 pm

suttung wrote:Has anyone tried using a credit card machine with their Ooma? If so- what was your experience?

I have a Hypercom t7Plus... I was thinking about going all Ooma for the home office, but if I can't use my credit card machine, I'll be locked into having to keep 1 line...

Thanks!
Search the forums, there are several posts describing the successful use of CC terminals over Ooma. To summarize:
  • Connect the CC machine to the Hub (not Scout) - this doesn't apply if you're using a Telo.
  • Configure the CC machine to use a baud rate of 9600 (or lower - apparently 2400 bps also works, but higher rates are unlike to).
  • Configure the CC machine to dial "*99PP" before dialing the number, where P = pause.
Hope this helps.
Ooma customer since April 2009
Ooma equipment: Hub ; Telo + 4 handsets
Ooma service: Annual Premier subscription

phoenixphury
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:38 pm

Re: Using a Credit Card Machine with an Ooma?

Post by phoenixphury » Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:15 pm

Hi all,

I have the exact same model as the person asking the question, Hypercom T7plus. I spoke to the merchant to see if they could help set it up with me. Unfortunately, there is no ' * ' button that can be used before the 99. I was unable to alter the baud rate either.

I'm really trying to avoid getting another line and if I have to get another CC machine with an ethernet port, I will. For those who are using it successfully, can anyone help and recommend what models work?

Thanks so much.

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Using a Credit Card Machine with an Ooma?

Post by murphy » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:54 am

phoenixphury wrote:Hi all,

I have the exact same model as the person asking the question, Hypercom T7plus. I spoke to the merchant to see if they could help set it up with me. Unfortunately, there is no ' * ' button that can be used before the 99. I was unable to alter the baud rate either.

I'm really trying to avoid getting another line and if I have to get another CC machine with an ethernet port, I will. For those who are using it successfully, can anyone help and recommend what models work?

Thanks so much.
http://www.hypercom.com/library/Counter ... GuideD.pdf
What do you call the button below the 1 and to the left of zero?
It operates at 2400 baud unless you bought the optional 56K version. There is no need to modify the baud rate.
It also has an optional ethernet feature.

http://www.hypercom.com/products/t7plus.asp
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply