Canon D480 Fax function not working with Ooma

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
aerofreaky11
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:13 pm

Canon D480 Fax function not working with Ooma

Post by aerofreaky11 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:18 pm

Hi,
I have a Hub. I have the multi function copier run the line to the phones I use. I was trying to send a fax today. No dice. I tried to remove the "tone" from ooma. For some reason, my settings page mentions what the tone is and that you can select it, but it doesn't offer me the chance to make changes. I only see the 10 digit dialing option--is it the right place?

I reduced the speed of the fax transmission. I tried using the pause function. I even tried manually dialing and pressing start. All of these get me a communication failure.

My Ooma is running through my router--a DIR655.

Any suggestions? What other settings can I change? Thanks for your assistance. I saw some other references to Canon multi-function units, but the things aren't exactly the same. Also, I still can't find how to get rid of the tone. I think that is where I need to start.

Thanks in advance!
J

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Canon D480 Fax function not working with Ooma

Post by murphy » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:32 pm

You can't get rid of the tone.
Did you dial *99 pause before you dialed the destination fax number?
Did you turn off error correction and set the baud rate to 9600?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

daet
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Metairie, LA

Re: Canon D480 Fax function not working with Ooma

Post by daet » Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:44 pm

aerofreaky11 wrote:Also, I still can't find how to get rid of the tone. I think that is where I need to start.
Everything that murphy wrote, and the tone doesn't matter.
Ooma customer since April 2009
Ooma equipment: Hub ; Telo + 4 handsets
Ooma service: Annual Premier subscription

aerofreaky11
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:13 pm

Re: Canon D480 Fax function not working with Ooma

Post by aerofreaky11 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:46 pm

I tried it with the *99. I tried manually calling using "hook."

Yes, set at 9600.

I am looking for the error correction setting--can't find it. Anyone have advice on where to look in the menu? I have the manual.

Post Reply