porting issue

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
kpdxham
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: porting issue

Post by kpdxham » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:10 pm

nippyjun wrote:In "my ooma". Go to account and click the port status tab on the left. If it's not there call them up.
Well .....My fault! How do I know? (besides the fact that there wasn't any "Porting Status" tab on my account)
I just got finished jumping through the hoops to get it ordered now and guess what showed up? That tab!
So......now I wait some more.
Oh well. Guess I'll blame it on my old age excitement over being able to dump a money hungry utility! (chuckle)

nippyjun
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:22 pm

Re: porting issue

Post by nippyjun » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:16 pm

Hopefully it will go smoothly and quickly for you.

kpdxham
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: porting issue

Post by kpdxham » Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:08 pm

Thank you!

madurodave
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:08 am

Re: porting issue

Post by madurodave » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:05 am

Mine just completed. No issues, but took 4 weeks!

ntoy

Re: porting issue

Post by ntoy » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:33 am

Hello kpdxham,

Are you able to view the porting status tab?

kpdxham
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: porting issue

Post by kpdxham » Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:22 pm

ntoy wrote:Hello kpdxham,

Are you able to view the porting status tab?
Yes. Thank you. After I found out that I'd never actually ordered it, then I took care of that and now there's the Porting Status tab and "Number port is estimated to complete on Oct 06, 2010" . :D

HighTestHome
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: porting issue

Post by HighTestHome » Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:26 pm

Just a follow-up. My port did complete on the 24th as shown on Porting Status.

kpdxham
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: porting issue

Post by kpdxham » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:31 pm

kpdxham wrote:
ntoy wrote:Hello kpdxham,

Are you able to view the porting status tab?
Yes. Thank you. After I found out that I'd never actually ordered it, then I took care of that and now there's the Porting Status tab and "Number port is estimated to complete on Oct 06, 2010" . :D
Done! :D Today 10/06/10

Hooray!

6306900854
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:06 am

Re: porting issue

Post by 6306900854 » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:23 am

Maybe someone can help on this. I have ATT and want to keep my phone # so they need to port my phone #. Ooma says I need to request a dry loop and that I need to get it in place before the ooma switch can take place. That is at least the way it looks to me.
When I call ATT they say that the dry loop can happen after the # port takes place .

So it seems I am hearing OOma and ATT are saying the opposite.

I called Oomoa support back and after she checked with another support person, she said that yes the dry loop can get completed after my phone # has been ported.

Can anybody shed anything as to the corrected timing? My line is scheduled to be ported on Oct 15 and will not be needing my phone from the 15-18. Any suggestions as to how to best handle this? thanks cindy

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: porting issue

Post by lbmofo » Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:02 am

If you can handle DSL outage for a few days, you can just let the number port. If your DSL is out after number port, just call AT&T to turn your DSL service back on. Ooma is asking folks to do dry-loop first because they don't want folks to lose DSL when port happens; this would cause phone outage because Ooma needs internet for it to work.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply