ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Flying
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:13 pm

ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by Flying » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:18 pm

ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number? any idea ?

thanks

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:22 pm

Unless you enable 10 digit dialing on my.ooma.com, you don't want to dial the area code if same area code.

If you enable 10 digit dialing, dialing 7 digits will make the call go through slower, but a # at the end will send it right through.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by southsound » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:24 pm

No problem. My ooma works fine. Yours should too - of course, we have no idea how long you have had your system, how it is connected to the Internet, your configuration, or even if it has ever worked. But in answer to your question??? Nope, mine's fine.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Flying
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:13 pm

Re: ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by Flying » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:45 pm

Got ooma telo last week, and setup it between modem and router, it works fine with internation and other area call, but not work with same area call.

Flying
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:13 pm

Re: ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by Flying » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:48 pm

where to enable 10 digital call in myooma?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:49 pm

Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: ooma have problem calling the same area code phone number?

Post by southsound » Sat Sep 18, 2010 7:52 am

You may also note that what may have to be dialed as a long distance number on your landline may go through as a local call with ooma. I do not have 10-digit dialing enabled on my Telo so when I call a number in my 360 (home) area code, I just dial the 7 numbers - even if it was a toll call for the landline. As an example: my phone company rate center is Shelton. For Shelton and Olympia numbers on the landline, I just dial 7 digits. Howeve, if I am calling Chehalis, Grapeview, Bremerton, etc., I have to dial 1 360 then the 7 digits if using the landline. On my ooma, I just dial the 7 digits. Since most of our calling is in the same area code, we just chose to not enable the 10-digit dialing. If it was the norm in my area prior to ooma, I would have set the ooma to match my telco's plan.

By the way - Welcome to ooma and to the forums!
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply