Ooma is no longer working..

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Ooma is no longer working..

Post by but2002 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:43 pm

I have an Ooma hub, purchased over a year ago, and today it seems to have stopped working.

I've even booted up the unit while holding down the tab to reset to default settings, and now it's unregistered and still can't connect.

I haven't had any problems until today, and nothing's changed. What gives?


I'm also unable to access
ooma.com
But I am able to access
https://www.ooma.com


I'm also unable to access
my.ooma.com

JoeO
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:59 am

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by JoeO » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:47 pm

Looks like a major outage..... Several have reported their systems not working (me included)

but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by but2002 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:50 pm

At least I can be happy I'm not in a lone boat here, I've been having problems with my website recently, having outages and members unable to access it, so this stacked on top threw me for a loop.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:51 pm

All three addresses work fine for me and my system is online and working.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by southsound » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:52 pm

JoeO wrote:Looks like a major outage..... Several have reported their systems not working (me included)
I'd hold off on assuming "major" outage. Seems like calls in many parts of the country are going through fine. I can also access the web pages that but2000 is unable to reach. I wonder if a DNS server is down somewhere? The ooma servers can be up and running just fine but if there is a problem with DNS, your PC would not know how to find the site. I use OpenDNS - maybe you could try that and see if you have better luck with the web pages - if they load, then we can assume it may be DNS related.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by but2002 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:53 pm

I use OpenDNS as my set of DNS servers and I tried with and without to no avail.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by southsound » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:56 pm

but2002 wrote:I use OpenDNS as my set of DNS servers and I tried with and without to no avail.
Strange that we both use the same OpenDNS servers and I can reach them and you can't. It's beyond me but if you can get it figured out, I'd love to know the answer.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by but2002 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:58 pm

Seems like there's a major network router somewhere out there malfunctioning. That would make sense, since everyone takes a different route, and for you, you take a route that's working fine, but for a lot of other people we're hitting that "damaged" cell in the network.

Let's hope Ooma can clarify this a bit.

EDIT:
Let's talk ISPs.

I'm on AT&T DSL service in the Oklahoma CIty region.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by southsound » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:04 pm

Qwest DSL out of their Shelton, WA rate center.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

midas
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:43 am

Re: Ooma is no longer working..

Post by midas » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:54 pm

Just about 1 hour ago I tried to make a phone call. As soon as I went off-hook the Ooma Telo rebooted. After it rebooted everything was fine. No idea if this is related.

Post Reply