I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
sfreehling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 1:15 pm

I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by sfreehling » Sat Jul 24, 2010 1:18 pm

my internet connection is working, it's plugged into a surge protector and I've unplugged everything and reconnected it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by Leeway » Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:29 pm

Welcome to my club!! Yes, I have a suggestion thanks to someone else helping me figure it out. Call Ooma customer service, they will test it while you are talking to them and they will tell you what they will do. In my case, they said they'd be sending an email. <g> I have no clue what that means.

Donna in wet Wisconsin

User avatar
hackerguy
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 10:28 pm
Location: Covington, TN

Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by hackerguy » Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:21 pm

My house was hit by lightening week before last and it knocked out my Ooma hub along with my garage door opener and my router. Four of the buttons on the hub were steady red and the tab was red and I had no dial tone. Are any of the buttons on your hub lit and if so what color?

RSC_1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:03 am

Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by RSC_1 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:14 am

Same situation here.Internet works but both Hub and Scout have steady Red lights on the OomaTab,"Previous,Stop,Play & Next" buttons.
Unplugged both units for several minutes,Powered them both up ..same display and No service.

What is wrong?

RSC_1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:03 am

Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by RSC_1 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:39 am

I again just tried disconnecting power to the Hub,Scout & Internet Router/Modem.
Inspected and reconnected all cables.Powered up Modem,then Hub and Scout.

The Hub now has a red flashing Tab--and Buttons "1","2"and "Trash" light up steady,a few seconds pass and the "Voicemail/Envelope" Button also lights up along with it.

The Scout just displays a flashing red Tab.

Everything is connected to surge protectors,and all my other gear is fine.( 2 phones,modem, 2 computers...)
...?

I am not finding relevant troubleshooting help.

RSC_1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:03 am

Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by RSC_1 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:46 pm

75 page views and not one suggestion...?
Zero incentive for any "Premium Service" if you have trouble at the basic level...
Sorry,but this is getting frustrating.

User avatar
macblack
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 1:55 pm

Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

Post by macblack » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:06 pm

Call 1-800-711-6662 during morning hours (they're on the east coast) and someone will walk you through it. Keep trying until you get a human to help you.
Macintosh OS X 10.7.3
Hub/Scout/Premier-Telo

    User avatar
    Leeway
    Posts: 933
    Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
    Location: North of Milwaukee WI

    Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

    Post by Leeway » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:05 pm

    The number is correct but last time I looked Palo Alto, California was very much on the West Coast.

    Corporate Address
    Ooma Inc.
    1840 Embarcadero Rd.
    Palo Alto, CA 94303

    Customer Support
    1-888-711-6662
    Monday-Friday 7am-7pm PST
    Saturday-Sunday 8am-5pm PST

    Donna

    User avatar
    hackerguy
    Posts: 49
    Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 10:28 pm
    Location: Covington, TN

    Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

    Post by hackerguy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:38 pm

    See my previous post in this thread. The lightening destroyed my Ooma hub, my router and my garage door opener motor but did not hurt my two computers and an array of other electronic gear in the house. From what you are describing it sounds like the storm ruined your hub and you will have to replace it. Usually such things are covered by home owner's or renter's insurance. When I replaced my hub with another one, everything worked fine.

    sejoma6229
    Posts: 1
    Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:01 pm

    Re: I don't have a dial tone after a storm

    Post by sejoma6229 » Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:00 pm

    I just installed my ooma hub and scout 2 days ago. My scout is not working now. All red lights across the bottom. Since we had a storm and I unplugged the hub and forgot the scout, how will I tell if it has been hit by lightning.

    Post Reply