Change second line phone number?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
mcewinter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 6:46 am

Change second line phone number?

Post by mcewinter » Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:39 am

After having Ooma for a few weeks I figured it would be advantageous to have my second line be in an area code where my family and friends are to save them some toll charges. Is there a way to change this after I have already established a second line phone number?

mattwj2005
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:19 am

Re: Change second line phone number?

Post by mattwj2005 » Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:49 am

I am not a 100% sure on this, you'll want to check with another person but I think you'll need to call Support for this. Also, they may charge for a support charge. Here is a list of their fees for different things:

https://www.ooma.com/legal/rates

Regards,

Matt

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Change second line phone number?

Post by murphy » Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:50 am

You will have to call customer support to change the number.
Last edited by murphy on Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ntoy

Re: Change second line phone number?

Post by ntoy » Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:00 am

Hello,

Changing the phone number would be $19.99. You can do so by contacting our support folks.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Change second line phone number?

Post by southsound » Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:55 pm

mcewinter wrote:After having Ooma for a few weeks I figured it would be advantageous to have my second line be in an area code where my family and friends are to save them some toll charges. Is there a way to change this after I have already established a second line phone number?
A less expensive route would be to get a Google Voice number in their area and point it to your ooma number. I have been using Google Voice as a front end for my ooma system and cell phone for about a year now and love how it works. If you have a cell phone, this gives you the double blessing of only having them call one number to ring you no matter where you are.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

davidv43
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:20 pm

Re: Change second line phone number?

Post by davidv43 » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:57 pm

if you use a google voice number, do you have to leave your computer on to get calls?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Change second line phone number?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:02 pm

Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply