change ip address

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
oom101
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by oom101 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 9:06 pm

I suspect that your speed problem was that the hub was limiting your up speed. I suggest having down 0 and up 0.
Reason not to buy used nor refurb. What was wrong when you used their modem again?

What is your tested download and upload speeds now using www.speedtest.net? Just give us the down and up numbers. I don't need all the other stuff. I gave a procedure previously to try your IP address swap like you used to. Did you see it?

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:37 am

the settings have been at 0 and 0 since someone suggested that. No difference.

I did the mac address change in order to change the ip and that does work, thanks.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:35 am

down 10.6
up 3.53

oom101
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 5:57 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by oom101 » Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:11 pm

Down of 10 seems rather slow, but over 3 up beats whatever I can even buy.
So is your Ooma calling working ok now?
What is left problem wise? The Docsis 1 modem thing?

Have you tried the speed test at several different times of day? I am using the Motorola SB6120 from Amazon I have had for months (docsis 3 with docsis 2 and I am docsis2) with Brighthouse Max Turbo. I just got 16.38 down and 1.9 up while not making a call with the Ooma, on speedtest.net, but 23.5 and 1.9 on the Brighthouse test. I'm wondering if speedtest.net is bogging down. I can get 25 down and 1.9 up (my max is 2) sometimes during the night. I'm thinking cable systems are getting saturated like people used to warn about. I'm looking at trying U-verse.

Anyway, try your speed tests during late night and early morning while not making a call to see if you can get close to what your cable system is saying you should get, and let us know what concerns are left now.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:31 pm

I am still getting calls that don't go through and people on the other end saying they can't hear me and/or it cuts out. Also still slow web pages. Comcast wouldn't do anything about the docsis 2.0 running in 1.1 mode problem.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: change ip address

Post by tommies » Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:06 pm

Most of the time, I have around 16 Down and 4 Up with Comcast. The most is 20D/6U and least is 10D/2U. I think I am on Docsis 2.0.

Speedtest
Image
cjw7 wrote:Comcast wouldn't do anything about the docsis 2.0 running in 1.1 mode problem.
Point your browser to http://192.168.100.1 (cable modem status page) and looking for the upstream + downstream power and signal to noise ratio. I post mine as a sample
RF Parameters
Downstream
Frequency 693 MHz Power 9 dBmV
Signal to Noise Ratio 37 dB Modulation QAM256
Upstream
Frequency 31 MHz Power 40 dBmV
Upstream Data Rate 2560 Ksym/sec Modulation QAM64
Some folk here has more knowledge on this stuffs and sure will help your to find the problem and/or how to deal with Comcast.

If you pay monthly modem lease, you can demand a new modem replacement without any reason. I guess maybe your modem is the problem. Some poster had confirm that their problme solved with new cable modem.
tommies

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:12 pm

Default Downstream Frequency: Hz
Frequency: 729000000 Hz
QAM Mode: 256 QAM
Channel Power: 1.2 dBmV
SNR: 33.868 dB


Upstream Signal
Channel Id: 1
Frequency: 21000000 Hz
Channel Width: 6400000 Hz
Channel Power: 33.1 dBmV


DOCSIS1.1 Quality of Service Parameters
Direction Upstream Downstream
SFID 0xe3e22 0xe3e23
SID 0x16ea N/A
Traffic Priority 1 1
Max Sustained Traffic Rate (bps) 2200000 17600000
Max Transmit Burst (bytes) 10000000 20000000
Min Reserved Traffic Rate (bps) 0 0
Service Flow Scheduling Type Best Effort N/A

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: change ip address

Post by tommies » Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:57 pm

According to Murphy
murphy wrote:The downstream signal power should be between -10 and +10 dBmV. (Some say between -15 and +15 but I feel that is pushing your luck)

The SNR should be 35 or more.

The upstream power level should be less than 55 dBmV.
Your SNR is little bit low, but I don't know much about this stuffs. Maybe Murphy will chime in.

At least you have some thing concrete to complain to Comcast, and have them come out and check the signal.
tommies

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:50 pm

I posted the results previously and someone else said the SNR should be higher. The problem is comcast will do nothing. The most they offered is to come out and check the outside wiring for any possible splitter problems. They charge to look at anything inside.

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: change ip address

Post by murphy » Thu Jul 15, 2010 2:51 am

For a test can you move your cable modem and computer to the place where your cable enters the house and connect the cable directly to the cable modem and to nothing else? i.e. no splitters at all.
Then recheck the signal parameters at 192.168.100.1
This will determine the signal quality of the incoming signal independent of the wiring in your house.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply