change ip address

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: change ip address

Post by Groundhound » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:12 pm

cjw7 wrote:how do I find upload speed?
Speedtest.net will give both up and down speeds, although distorted by Powerboost. Still it will give us a clue.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:52 pm

ok, what should I do?

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:52 pm

pages loaded fine before hooking up the ooma

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 7:00 pm

I did the speedtest.net test and I got:

12.91 mbps download
4.11 mbps upload

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: change ip address

Post by Groundhound » Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:27 pm

cjw7 wrote:I did the speedtest.net test and I got:

12.91 mbps download
4.11 mbps upload
Probably 2 Mbps upload sustained, so try setting your upstream QoS to 1600 Kbps and see if your call quality is any better.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 2:03 am

I have reset the Qos to 1600. I am still getting slow loading pages or they time out.

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: change ip address

Post by murphy » Fri Jul 09, 2010 2:05 am

Turn QOS off (set to 0). You don't need QOS with those speeds.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:02 am

setting Qos at 1600 and at 0 doesn't work. Same problems with pages timing out and calls not going through.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: change ip address

Post by Groundhound » Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:17 am

What model modem do you have? Is it rented from Comcast or do you own it?

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:51 am

D-link DCM-202
I own it

Post Reply