change ip address

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:22 pm

it has been happening even when the phone is not in use.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:37 pm

I am also having problems with my fax. I can only seem to send one page at a time, or it times out.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: change ip address

Post by Groundhound » Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:21 pm

Your upload speed is probably below the setting you have for QoS in Ooma's setup. What is your upload speed as provisioned by your ISP, and what speed do you normally see at a site like http://speedtest.net? Normally for lower bandwidth tiers you should set the upstream speed in Ooma's QoS to be about 80% of your typical tested sustained speed.

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:49 am

8 mbps through comcast minimum
10.2 mbps on the speedtest site

Ooma's Qos has the speed in kbps, so what should I set it as?

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: change ip address

Post by Groundhound » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:20 am

cjw7 wrote:8 mbps through comcast minimum
10.2 mbps on the speedtest site

Ooma's Qos has the speed in kbps, so what should I set it as?
I'd set the upstream to be 1600 Kbps if your Comcast upload bandwidth tier is 2 Mbps - if your Comcast speed tier is something else then adjust accordingly. Since Comcast likes to obfuscate their sustained bandwidth rates and just talk about temporary "Powerboost" rates, you may need to do some upload tests using very large files to determine what your true upload bandwidth is. I'd leave the downstream QoS at 0 (turns off QoS) since your downstream speed tier is high at 8 Mbps - if you find you have issues with call quality during times when you are downloading a large file or movie stream from a fast server you can always go back and adjust the downstream QoS to be something like 6400 Kbps

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:56 pm

so if the speeds are as follows,

8 mbps through comcast minimum
10.2 mbps on the speedtest site

then I should set the Qos at 6000 kbps?

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: change ip address

Post by Groundhound » Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:52 pm

cjw7 wrote:so if the speeds are as follows,

8 mbps through comcast minimum
10.2 mbps on the speedtest site

then I should set the Qos at 6000 kbps?
Those, I believe are your download speeds and I wouldn't set QoS on downstream yet, because:
cjw7 wrote: I can hear the person on the other end just fine, but the people I'm talking to say the conversation cuts out a lot.
This is indicative of an upstream problem. Do you know what your sustained (not Powerboosted) upload speed is?

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:50 pm

how do I find upload speed?

cjw7
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:43 pm

Re: change ip address

Post by cjw7 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:05 pm

this is from the speed test I posted before:
Download speed: 4668784 bps
Upload speed: 132792 bps

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: change ip address

Post by murphy » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:25 pm

cjw7 wrote:this is from the speed test I posted before:
Download speed: 4668784 bps
Upload speed: 132792 bps
You have a serious problem if you are only getting 132 kbps upload speed on a Comcast account.
I am on the standard Comcast speed and get 20,710 kbps down and 2,350 kbps up.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply