Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
philipp
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:32 am

Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by philipp » Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:43 am

Anyone getting a "Request Timeout" when trying to connect via the new Ooma Mobile app?
It knows when I have no network at all. But once I'm on my WiFi network (it's an iPod Touch), and I try to connect, it sits and spins for quite a while, and then tells me it got a "Request Timeout".
Is there any kind of troubleshooting I can do?
I just bought the app, so I have no idea how it would normally behave, but this is obviously not useful.
Thanks for any suggestions.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:29 am

I have the same issue with my home wifi (broadstripe is the ISP). I'd have no trouble using my friends' wifi (Comcast). I haven't figured out what's wrong yet.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by Bobby B » Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:07 pm

Does the Ooma Mobile client work OK when you use it on other Wi-Fi networks? One thing I've found is that some advanced routers try to do stateful packet inspection for Ooma Mobile traffic. You might try disabling the firewall on the router as a test to check if the client goes into service OK.
Bobby B

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:58 pm

Hi Bobby, I have the TEW-639GR V1.0 and it does have this SPI Firewall: Stateful Packet Inspection Firewall - A technology that inspects incoming packets of information before allowing them to enter the network.

I couldn't find anywhere within the admin menus to disable the firewall, do I want to put my iphone in the DMZ?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:56 pm

Just tried putting my iPhone's DHCP reserved internal IP in the DMZ and still no dice.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

philipp
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by philipp » Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:00 pm

Okay, I've tried on a different network, and it seemed to work okay there.
So there's probably something about certain routers that doesn't play very nice.
I hope someone finds out what it is and what to do about it.
Keep posting here if you figure it out.

hogdoc
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:37 pm

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by hogdoc » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:13 pm

I can call fine on 3g but not on my wifi via a dir825 by dlink. I tried turning off SPI and placed the iphone in a DMZ and still will say calling but never connect. I do get the connected via wifi symbol. I will try connecting with another wifi network to test but this needs a solution.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:14 pm

Called my ISP Broadstripe today and they said that they don't block any protocol or any ports.

Then I called TRENDnet techncial support.

I was advised to enable a Port Trigger Rule:

Match Protocol - All
Match Port = 5060
Trigger Protocol - All
Trigger Port = 5060
Schedule - Always

Ooma app still can't connect via my home wifi. Is UDP port 5060 it or could it be a range?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

hogdoc
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:37 pm

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by hogdoc » Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:56 pm

********WARNING********

Some routers like mine have bugs in the firmware like the D-link dir-825 and DON'T support SIP sessions. I had to do a firmware upgrade (for the 3rd time) to get it to work (2.03NA). Now I am able to call but the called party can't hear me. Could be a port issue or still a bug. Any thoughts??

hogdoc
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:37 pm

Re: Ooma Mobile gets "Request Timeout"

Post by hogdoc » Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:14 pm

*******FIXED*****

The firmware upgrade made the wifi call connect but had to throttle back the firewall to a mid level restriction to make everything work so both parties can hear each other! Hope this helps other that may have issues :D

Post Reply