Port forwarding is just not working

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
AllanMarcus
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:23 pm

Port forwarding is just not working

Post by AllanMarcus » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:26 pm

Hello,

New to ooma Just set up my hub. Modem -> Hub -> router

My router is an apple extreme base station in bridge mode, so traffic just flows right through it.

I have a web server on 192.168.0.171
I've set up the home port to 192.168.0.1
dhcp start: 192.168.0.100
dhcp end: 192.168.0.150

port forwarding rules:
port 80, tcp, -> 192.168.0.171
port 548, tcp, -> 192.168.0.171

port 548 is the AppleShare port. These port forwarding are exactly the same that I had on my router and worked great. With the ooma hub, no port forwarding at all :-(

I can get the ooma to work behind the router, but the apple router has not QoS settings. My connection is 5mb/864k.

Any ideas? Does anyone have port forwarding with an ooma working?

Thanks,

Allan

Josh68
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Port forwarding is just not working

Post by Josh68 » Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:45 pm

No, and frankly, after months of asking this in the forum and also having pretty crappy service with my Telo, I'm about ready to throw the thing in the trash.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Port forwarding is just not working

Post by murphy » Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:20 pm

AllanMarcus wrote:Hello,

New to ooma Just set up my hub. Modem -> Hub -> router

My router is an apple extreme base station in bridge mode, so traffic just flows right through it.

I have a web server on 192.168.0.171
I've set up the home port to 192.168.0.1
dhcp start: 192.168.0.100
dhcp end: 192.168.0.150

port forwarding rules:
port 80, tcp, -> 192.168.0.171
port 548, tcp, -> 192.168.0.171

port 548 is the AppleShare port. These port forwarding are exactly the same that I had on my router and worked great. With the ooma hub, no port forwarding at all :-(

I can get the ooma to work behind the router, but the apple router has not QoS settings. My connection is 5mb/864k.

Any ideas? Does anyone have port forwarding with an ooma working?

Thanks,

Allan
How are you testing this?
It can't be done from inside of your network because the ooma does not support loopback.

Presumably the server on .171 has a static IP address. Did you also set it's gateway address to 192.168.0.1?
Did you set it's DNS addresses to match your ISP's DNS server addresses?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

AllanMarcus
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: Port forwarding is just not working

Post by AllanMarcus » Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:29 pm

I was testing from a different network (my Mac with a broadband card).

Thanks for your help. I've given up on my ooma. I really wanted it to work, but the voice quality was just not nearly as good as our land line, even with no other network activity. Also, the hub crashed multiple times and had to be power cycled. FInally, it only connected about 50% of the time after a power cycle, and I would need to power cycle it again.

Radio Shack is going to give me a full refund, so no harm. I know it works well for some of you, but unfortunately, not for me.

-Allan

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Port forwarding is just not working

Post by tommies » Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:45 pm

AllanMarcus wrote:Hello,

New to ooma Just set up my hub. Modem -> Hub -> router

My router is an apple extreme base station in bridge mode, so traffic just flows right through it.

I have a web server on 192.168.0.171
I've set up the home port to 192.168.0.1
dhcp start: 192.168.0.100
dhcp end: 192.168.0.150

port forwarding rules:
port 80, tcp, -> 192.168.0.171
port 548, tcp, -> 192.168.0.171


Allan
I see that your server ip is not in the range of the DHCP.

For some router, this is absolutely ok, (mine is) but for some other any ip that is not in the range will be completely ignored ie. blocked.(my bro's router is, but I forgot the brand)

I don't know how the ooma hub/telo behaves on this, only the mod. could tell. However, it does not hurt if you try to move the ip into the range of the DHCP to see if it words.

Also it helps if you put your equipments (modem, router, ooma) on a dedicated UPS. I do.
tommies

Post Reply