Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
chief
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:26 am

Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by chief » Thu Jun 26, 2008 8:31 pm

Has anyone else experienced your ooma box will dial a prevous number that you called. What I mean is this. I call 111-111-1111 (example) have a phone conversation blah blah blah. Then hang up. Then later you pick up the phone and dial 222-222-2222 (another example) and on my phone it will show that I dialed the new number correctly, but behind the scenes it dials the first number back. I have had this happens several times and so has my wife. It can even happen if I use one phone and she picks up a different phone to make a new call. Anyone esle have this problem?

Chief

User avatar
Mojo
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:54 am
Location: Palo Alto, California
Contact:

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by Mojo » Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:10 pm

Hi Chief,

I haven't heard about this problem before - I'd send a note over to the customer support team with details on a specific day/time when this occurred so we can investigate this further.

bluesgene
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:55 pm
Location: Chepachet, RI

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by bluesgene » Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:59 pm

Yes, I have had this happen to me also, but only once so far.

chief
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:26 am

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by chief » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:22 pm

This happens to me everyonce in while. I am using an ATT 5.8 ghz digital phone. i don't know if this is the same as yours or not. This has happend at least 20 times in 6 months.

bluesgene
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:55 pm
Location: Chepachet, RI

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by bluesgene » Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:14 pm

No. My phone is a GE 2.4Ghz chorded. Also, my wife informed me that this problem has happened to her a couple of times too. You know, This could potentially be a serious problem if it were to happen while attempting to make an immergency call.

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by Bobby B » Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:19 pm

Yes, I agree. If you or your wife can recall approximate day/times and the phone numbers involved, we can try to take a look at why this might be occurring.

The ooma Hub only has memory for the last called phone number. Normally if you dial *69 (if caller-ID was present), you'll dial the person who last called you. We'd need to check if somehow this or some other key sequence is being sent from the phone.
bluesgene wrote:No. My phone is a GE 2.4Ghz chorded. Also, my wife informed me that this problem has happened to her a couple of times too. You know, This could potentially be a serious problem if it were to happen while attempting to make an immergency call.
Bobby B

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by Dennis P » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:11 pm

We've finally been able to collect enough data to isolate this issue and have rolled out a fix in an upgrade sent out about a week ago. Thanks to all who chimed in on this.

chief
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:26 am

Re: Problem with ooma dialing the wrong number

Post by chief » Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:52 pm

I am glad you fixed this. I wanted to check and see if anyone else continued to have problems with this so i came back to my orignial post. I can tell you I have not had this problem in a few months. It seems to not happen any more. Thanks for fixing it.

Chief

Post Reply