Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#52460 by jmart
Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:11 am
Is anyone familiar with the PhoneGnome? Or, does anyone have any actual experience with this? It would be really nice to be able to make calls when I travel, which is not that often, using my netbook.

I am fairly new to ooma, and not very familiar with SIP. I would like to be able to make a call through my bluetooth headset on my netbook, running Ubuntu, over a wifi connection from a hotel or coffee shop. This happens so infrequently that buying a cell phone with a monthly payment is simply not worth it, and I have no interest in an ipod touch for whenever the ooma app is released. From the sounds of it this will accomplish my goal, but I'd like to get some feedback before dropping $99 on one. Thanks!

http://www.phonegnome.com/ooma.html
#52466 by southsound
Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:01 am
I'm not familiar with PhoneGnome but I am also a minimal cell phone user - just for emergencies or when traveling. I pay $5.50 a month for a phone that uses ATT service and gives me 150 minutes a month with rollover of minutes and a new phone every 4 months. No contracts. Since I have been using my plan (18 months or so) I have 1500 minutes rolled over. If you would like to have details, send me a PM using the envelope under my avatar.

I do not work for ooma and have no financial relationship with any cell phone company or provider. I'm just really thrifty and don't mind sharing how it has worked for me. As it is really off topic, I believe it is better left to an email than to this forum.
#52479 by Groundhound
Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:23 am
jmart wrote:Is anyone familiar with the PhoneGnome? Or, does anyone have any actual experience with this? It would be really nice to be able to make calls when I travel, which is not that often, using my netbook.