Outgoing Caller ID Problem

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
RickO
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:19 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Outgoing Caller ID Problem

Post by RickO » Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:17 am

When I first set up the ooma system, my outgoing caller ID showed my name and ooma phone number. After a day or so, my outbound ID displayed either "Unknown Caller" or "Out of Area" along with the number. Yesterday, my name was back, but today it displays "Out of Area" or "Unknown Caller" again when I call someone local. Is anyone else having this problem?
Last edited by RickO on Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

frenchcamp49er
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by frenchcamp49er » Wed Feb 18, 2009 1:23 pm

Mine has displayed "Out of Area" since day one.
Customer Since: January 2009
Ooma Hardware: Ooma Hub/Scout; Telo 04/02/10
Ooma Service: Premier Lifetime (Since December 2009)

User avatar
number9
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by number9 » Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:14 am

If you log into the ooma lounge and click on preferences, then privacy, there is a drop down menu that you can use to select number shown on caller ID.
Maybe this will help.
Plays PRS guitars

frenchcamp49er
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by frenchcamp49er » Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:28 pm

number9 wrote:If you log into the ooma lounge and click on preferences, then privacy, there is a drop down menu that you can use to select number shown on caller ID.
Maybe this will help.
Did that on day one.
Customer Since: January 2009
Ooma Hardware: Ooma Hub/Scout; Telo 04/02/10
Ooma Service: Premier Lifetime (Since December 2009)

User avatar
RickO
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:19 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by RickO » Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:26 pm

The tough thing about this situation is that a lot of my friends are not picking up when I call because they think that I'm a telemarketer when "Out of Area" is displayed. I hope there is a way to resolve this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

frenchcamp49er
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by frenchcamp49er » Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:46 pm

I also hopes this gets fixed ASAP.
Customer Since: January 2009
Ooma Hardware: Ooma Hub/Scout; Telo 04/02/10
Ooma Service: Premier Lifetime (Since December 2009)

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by Bobby B » Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:39 pm

Did you already forward this over to support? I wanted to know if they gave you a time frame on when it'd be completed. Normally, the outgoing caller-ID name is provisioned within two weeks.

Also, does your name show as "Out of Area" for all the people you call (those that have caller-ID name)?
frenchcamp49er wrote:Mine has displayed "Out of Area" since day one.
Bobby B

frenchcamp49er
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by frenchcamp49er » Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:45 pm

Bobby B wrote:Did you already forward this over to support? I wanted to know if they gave you a time frame on when it'd be completed. Normally, the outgoing caller-ID name is provisioned within two weeks.

Also, does your name show as "Out of Area" for all the people you call (those that have caller-ID name)?
frenchcamp49er wrote:Mine has displayed "Out of Area" since day one.
No I didn't contact anyone, Its been this way for over 5 weeks. Yes everyone I call, it says "Out of Area".
Customer Since: January 2009
Ooma Hardware: Ooma Hub/Scout; Telo 04/02/10
Ooma Service: Premier Lifetime (Since December 2009)

User avatar
RickO
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:19 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Outgoing Caller ID

Post by RickO » Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:19 pm

frenchcamp49er wrote:Mine has displayed "Out of Area" since day one.
frenchcamp49er wrote:No I didn't contact anyone, Its been this way for over 5 weeks. Yes everyone I call, it says "Out of Area".
I feel your pain. It's been over 5 weeks for me too. Customer support has escalated this to the provising team after verifying the problem. I have to say that everyone at ooma support has been very pleasant to talk with. Hopefully things will be straightened out soon.

Post Reply