ANother Brinks/Broadview Question

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Markrw58
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:04 am

ANother Brinks/Broadview Question

Post by Markrw58 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:57 am

I am trying to setup my Brinks system to work with Ooma and as expected it failed when I connected it directly to Telos without any other changes, my question is should there be a log of the attempt in Ooma, there was not one, or is that normal and does anyone have the instructions to make the changes in my alarm system without calling Brinks/Broadview?

Mark

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: ANother Brinks/Broadview Question

Post by murphy » Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:55 pm

Did you connect the ooma phone port to the same place that you disconnected your land line from. With an alarm system in the picture, you can't just connect the ooma to the closest wall socket.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Markrw58
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:04 am

Re: ANother Brinks/Broadview Question

Post by Markrw58 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:16 pm

I ran a phone line directly from phone jack on Ooma to the jack on the alarm system.

Markrw58
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:04 am

Re: ANother Brinks/Broadview Question !Sucess!

Post by Markrw58 » Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:18 am

Here's an update on my situation. I have everything working, I did not have to add a prefix to the number I just ran a phone line directly from the alarm to the Ooma phone jack. I have tested it four times an it has been sucessful everytime.

missouri03l
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:03 am

Re: ANother Brinks/Broadview Question !Sucess!

Post by missouri03l » Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:06 am

Markrw58 wrote:Here's an update on my situation. I have everything working, I did not have to add a prefix to the number I just ran a phone line directly from the alarm to the Ooma phone jack. I have tested it four times an it has been sucessful everytime.

No luck for me, I tried doing that and it would dial out but not sync up with Brinks. Get the "CH" error on the panel still...

joeed2
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:52 pm

Re: ANother Brinks/Broadview Question

Post by joeed2 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:03 pm

Could someone actually take a picture of the wire hookup in the panel? Or what colors go where?

I have an RJ-31 jack on my alarm. I have no landline service. Could you get more specific to the statement "I just ran a phone line directly from the alarm to the Ooma phone jack"?

I can figure out the part about plugging one end of the RJ-11 into Ooma, but the other end to the alarm is where I'm not following. What color wires (or pinouts) on the RJ-11 go to what connections on the alarm (ring,tip, etc.)?

All I need right now is dial tone to the alarm. I really don't care about seizing the line or anything like that. Just raw dial tone and I am happy.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: ANother Brinks/Broadview Question

Post by southsound » Fri Mar 19, 2010 3:20 pm

This picture may help (of course, when it says Telco DEMARC for us it means PHONE jack on ooma system):

Image

The dotted red and green wires represent where the wires would go without the alarm installed.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply