Ooma Hub only confusion

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by caseybea » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:54 am

What, specifically, does your box say on the outside? If it says "core system" (or similar), then yes, you have a 'core' (even though the scout wasn't in the stupid box).

If, on the other hand, the box does NOT say core (or, you didn't get the original box), RETURN IT.

It's also important to note that if it's "refurbished", you may be subject to a $60 fee from ooma to re-activate the used unit.

I purchased my new CORE from amazon....
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by murphy » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:14 pm

Call CS and ask them what the status of your unit is. We can only guess.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ntoy

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by ntoy » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:56 pm

Hello,

In looking at your account, you are currently on 2 month trial premiere.
Afterwards, if you choose not to upgrade to premiere, your account will be on core.
Callerid is provided from Ooma.
There is no reactivation fee since you purchased from an authorized retailer & not from
a 3rd party.

ntoy

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by ntoy » Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:08 pm

Hello,

Correct, callerid with name would be provided from Ooma.
As for free phone support - I wish I could say indefinitely, but the Terms & Conditions governed
are "subject to change..." In other words, I cannot guarantee in the future.

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by caseybea » Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:39 pm

ntoy, what is the average amount of time between when you 'port', and when your OUTGOING caller id actually shows up?

It's been over a week since I ported, and my OUTBOUND caller-id is still blank. People I'm calling continually ask my why, and in at least one case, my phone call was ignored because the caller ID information was not there.
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

ntoy

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by ntoy » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:26 pm

Hello caseybea,

Unfortunately, I wish we had more control over this. There are variables beyond our control. Once we provision outbound callerid with our carrier on your Ooma account, we are waiting on these parties to react:

-Terminating carrier - to pass on your callerid to the callerid database
-Local Telco - to dip into the callerid database.

Sometimes, these parties pass or dip once a month, once a quarter, or once a year, etc. Other than that, I'm not sure why they drag their feet.

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by caseybea » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:31 pm

Let's assume I've waited 3 or 4 weeks, and still-- no caller ID.

How can I verify that it's your downstream carrier(s), as opposed to ooma itself, that's holding up the process?

Based on how my port went, and total lack of communications I got from ooma in the process, my faith in ooma actually following through with tasks is a bit diminished...
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

ntoy

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by ntoy » Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:46 pm

Hello caseybea,

I've checked with our provisioning dept & your callerid has been provisioned with our carrier.

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by caseybea » Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:51 am

Thanks so much for checking! Now it seems, I wait... (and wait....).
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

yoweird
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:41 pm

Re: Ooma Hub only confusion

Post by yoweird » Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:47 pm

Dear NTOY:

I am in exactly the same boat, I purchased what is advertised as the OOMA core from the frys.com website for $169.00. But they sent me a HUB not a CORE. I bought this because I wanted to avoid the yearly service charge.

Can you check my account and see if I am listed as a core? Is it automatically registered as a core or is it something that can be changed? I am asking because I am thinking of getting one for my mom and want to know if she will need to contact ooma to get it changed to a core, or if that is done automatically.

Thank you!

Post Reply