Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
FreihEitner
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:50 pm

Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by FreihEitner » Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:56 pm

I have been searching these forums for a couple of weeks and have not found a working solution.

I bought a new Ooma Hub and Scout combo. It's working fine for making and receiving calls (aside from some echo issues) however when I place the Ooma Hub between my cable modem and my router, it blocks virtually all incoming ports to my network. The solutions I have found involve logging in to http://setup.ooma.com or its IP address equivalent http://172.27.35.1. However neither one works. I've tested in Firefox 3.5/3.6 and Safari 4. I get an error that the site could not be found. However I can ping 172.27.35.1 so I know that it's there.

I have also tried connecting my PC directly to the HOME port of the Ooma and leaving my router completely out of the picture. The results are the same, so at least I know that it isn't my router which is blocking access.

Any suggestions for getting into the Ooma Hub configuration page? Thanks in advance.

Don FreihEitner Eitner

FreihEitner
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by FreihEitner » Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:02 pm

I should add that connecting my PC to the HOME port of the Ooma Hub results in the PC getting a self-assigned IP address. It does not receive a 172.27.35.x address. Manually assigning the PC at 172.27.35.2 still does not allow me to access setup.ooma.com by name nor IP.

It's as if both the DHCP server and the web server on the Ooma Hub are not running.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by Groundhound » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:08 am

Make sure your TCP/IP settings for your computer's network adapter are to accept an assigned address and not static.

FreihEitner
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by FreihEitner » Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:28 pm

The first time I tried it, my computer was set for DHCP. Only after that failed did I try setting it to a static address.

FreihEitner
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by FreihEitner » Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:39 am

Has anyone else experienced not being able to connect to http://172.27.35.1 through the HOME port on the Ooma Hub?

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by murphy » Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:35 am

FreihEitner wrote:Has anyone else experienced not being able to connect to http://172.27.35.1 through the HOME port on the Ooma Hub?
Are you using a laptop that also has wireless enabled? If so, you must disable the wireless.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

FreihEitner
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by FreihEitner » Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:41 pm

No, no wireless here. Using a direct ethernet connection with a desktop system (a Mac Pro). I've tried with both ethernet ports on the computer.

sfhub
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:22 am

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by sfhub » Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:32 am

Can you telnet to port 80 and type

GET /
[enter]

Where [enter] is the Enter key on the keyboard.

FreihEitner
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by FreihEitner » Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:16 pm

telnet: connect to address 172.27.35.1: Connection refused

I did this with my computer set to a manual address of 172.27.35.2, subnet mask of 255.255.0.0 (I also tried 255.255.255.0) and the gateway & DNS set at 172.27.35.1. I used the manual settings on my computer because DHCP still fails to get an address and manually assigns a 169.x.x.x self-assigned address.

The green link light on the HOME port on the Ooma Hub is lit, indicating there is a physical connection established.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Unable to access setup.ooma.com by name or IP

Post by amoney » Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:21 pm

Despite the status light, it can still be bad.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Post Reply