Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#10 by Kort
Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:46 am
I am trying to set up an Airport Extreme on the computer (macMini) that shares my ooma system and cable internet connection. So far I have not been able to get it to work. Either the airport works and I lose internet/phone, or the phone/internet works, and I can't use the airport.

Anyone set up something similar and have some thoughts?
Thanks.
#14 by Bobby B
Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 pm
Hi Kort,

I've had some experience setting up an airport extreme from a computer connected behind the ooma Hub. How is the airport connected in your home network -- is it connected directly to your Internet cable modem? Does it look something like:

(Airport Extreme) -- (ooma Hub) -- (macMini)

-Bobby
#1001 by Kort
Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:25 am
I've tried a few configurations, including that one, and I've not gotten my airport to work yet. Ugh. For some reason the airport, cable modem and ooma system just don't want to play together. I'd really like to be able to get this to work though, it is very frustrating not having a wireless network at home.
#1240 by lshahs
Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:42 pm
Below is my setup:

Cable Modem - Connected to Ooma Unit - Home
Airport Extreme N - Connected to Ooma Unit
Vonage Router - Connected to Airport Extreme N

All my wireless and everything works just perfect. I can connect using my Vonage service no problems. Wireless works with no issues and no loss of speed.

But my problem comes in when I actually use the phone connected to the Ooma Unit. As soon as the phone dials out (or I get an incoming call) , I loose my wireless connection. I cannot get it back until I hang up the phone.

This pretty much makes my Unit not usable since I have multiple things running off my wireless connection. Any ideas?
#20479 by Kort
Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:06 pm