Page 2 of 2

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:07 am
by floydb
Awsome. Thanks a bunch. I will try it out tonight.

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:18 am
by floydb
Well, I did as you instructed, but to no avail. I guess i am only left assume there is some kind of hardware/firmware failure on the ooma unit? Anyone else have a trick up their sleeve that I haven't tried. Is there a way to definitively test the port forwarding/dmz capabilites of OOMA to confirm they are working (or not)?

Is there a way to upgrade the firmware on the ooma hub that might correct the issue? I didn't see one in the web interface.

I am soooo disappointed in this. Lots of hours invested in something that should work fairly simply....oh well.

Regards

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:49 am
by Groundhound
Based upon the recommendation that murphy made, do you have this configuration in setup?
dmz2.jpg
dmz2.jpg (25.2 KiB) Viewed 1374 times

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:29 pm
by amoney
I have been thinking about the DMZ, it has always been said that use of the DMZ is a security risk as that potentially exposes the device to the outside world to hack.

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:47 pm
by Groundhound
amoney wrote:I have been thinking about the DMZ, it has always been said that use of the DMZ is a security risk as that potentially exposes the device to the outside world to hack.
Remember, what has been described here is putting the router's IP into the Ooma DMZ, with Ooma in front of the router. In this configuration Ooma will not "protect" the router, which is desirable in this case.

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:41 am
by floydb
Groundhound-

Yep...that is exactly the configuration that I had, but it still didn't work. I once again confirmed that if I take ooma box out of the equations, all works fine and I can connect to the FTP server, so this is DEFINITELY an ooma hardward/firmware issue, me thinks.

Ooma support said I should move my ooma box on the other side of the router so it is in parallel with the FTP server (cable modem-->router-->ooma vs. what I have today modem-->ooma-->router), but that is contrary to what ooma told me when I first set up the system. I worry about voice quality when I put ooma behind the router.

Re: FTP Setup for a NAS

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:53 am
by Groundhound
I've run both the Hub and Telo in front of and behind my router with good results. My router is a Linksys WRT54GL running Tomato firmware and I configure QoS in Tomato when I'm running behind the router - it works just fine.