Blacklist failed

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Blacklist failed

Post by Lee » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:59 pm

I got setup with Ooma Premier last week and was FINALLY able to block this tele-marketer that has called me daily for three weeks. The phone rang this afternoon and guess who it was - the same tele-marketer using the number I entered into my blacklist.

Ooma guys - what's up with this? The call block feature was one of the mail reasons I got Ooma Premier.

bluechalk
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:46 pm

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by bluechalk » Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:46 pm

The same thing happened to me yesterday. See viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5249 .

Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by Lee » Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:52 am

Ooma guys?

ntoy

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by ntoy » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:44 am

Hello Lee,

Your Ooma account is currently configured to work with your Landline.
Presently, the blacklist feature is only supported on NonLandline configurations.

This will be supported in the future.

Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by Lee » Tue Dec 15, 2009 6:17 pm

Thanks, ntoy. :cool:

bluechalk
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:46 pm

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by bluechalk » Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:01 pm

Ntoy:

My accout is not configured with a landline. What about my problem?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5249
Last edited by bluechalk on Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
The Talker
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by The Talker » Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:31 am

Has the future arrived yet?
Has this been implemented?
ntoy wrote:Hello Lee,

Your Ooma account is currently configured to work with your Landline.
Presently, the blacklist feature is only supported on NonLandline configurations.

This will be supported in the future.
I am The Talker || **Lifetime Premier Service Subscriber** Use this SEARCH function folks!

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Blacklist failed

Post by bw1 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:57 am

The Talker wrote:Has the future arrived yet?
Has this been implemented?
ntoy wrote:Hello Lee,

Your Ooma account is currently configured to work with your Landline.
Presently, the blacklist feature is only supported on NonLandline configurations.

This will be supported in the future.
I would think they would post an update in the Ooma Status and Updates forum when it's implemented.

I don't see the need to integrate a landline. The only reason would be to be able to use your existing number while waiting for it to port. But then you can't really test out Ooma because only long distance calls will be using Ooma.

You're better off getting a temporary Ooma number keeping your landline separate.

Post Reply