Directv

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
cilsml
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:02 am

Directv

Post by cilsml » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:10 am

How do you connect your existing satellite (Directv) service through ooma??

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Directv

Post by hpepper » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 am

If you use the new Telo, you would simply plug in the phone line from the DirecTV jack to the Ooma Phone jack, either with a splitter, so your regular phones can work as well, or another way is to connect your Telo phone jack to the house wiring and then plug one of the house wiring jacks to the DirecTV box. The Telo handset could be a second line.

If you use the older Hub, you would do the same thing except you would also be able to use the Scout for additional lines.

If you use DSL the above configuration may not work.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Directv

Post by southsound » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:35 am

Some of the newer DirecTV receivers can use a network connection instead of dialup. In those systems you may also get extra features like video on demand and some other neat things. I use Dish Network so I can't tell you what models but check the back of the receiver for an RJ45. It will probably be marked "network".
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply