Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
doctorjones2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:24 pm

Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by doctorjones2 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:48 am

As far as I know, ooma does not have the ability to hear touch-tones IN. It can do out, thank goodness, but not in.

Why? Because I use Parliant Phonevalet, and have different mailboxes for 5 people, with the ability to forward calls and email calls with this great software, when a caller touch tones their extension. I don't use ooma voice mail (except as a backup).

This is also a problem for people who want to use their existing answering machine and dial in from on the road to listen to their messages and need to key in a security code, which ooma can not hear.

In my testing I only hear a chopped off blip, and thus makes touch tones in impossible. I'm not sure why this is so, unless I am missing something.

In the meantime, I have to multiring to a MagicJack, which CAN hear touch tones in into my Mac for Phonevalet in order to use it's versatility and power.

Any news on if and when this would be around? And does the Telo have this ability? I have the Hub. Thanks!

Paul

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:56 am

According to ooma the Telo has the capability of dtmf tone in and will be enabled in a future firmware upgrade.

Wayne

doctorjones2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by doctorjones2 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:06 pm

Thanks so much Wayne. I thought it might be in the works for a firmware update for the Hub, and I hope they do it soon! I like ooma soooo much better than MagicJack! but I have to have the ability to have tones in. I'll maybe call them and see if its worth it to buy a Telo, but what do I do with the old Hub? Also I ported my phone number over, etc, my wife even has her own hub and ported her phone number over too, so it's a little complicated. Anyway, there is still hope for touch tones in then Thanks !

(Got your post on the other forum too, I wasn't sure where to post it - thanks)

Paul

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:22 pm

The hub does not have that capability built in the hardware, so it's safe to say the hub will not ever have it.
The Telo, however, does.

Wayne

doctorjones2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:24 pm

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by doctorjones2 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:51 am

Ah, thanks so much for clarifying that. I read your post wrong (with wishful thinking) that a firmware update would bring the hub up to speed, but now I understand I think what you're saying is the Telo is capable of touch tone in, but just not yet, as it would require another firmware update, but the Hub will never be capable of it (darn). Any idea of how one would find out if there are firmware updates for the hub or the telo? Should I check a certain page in the my ooma web page for firmware updates? Thanks again Wayne.

Paul

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by bw1 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:11 pm

Your Hub will automatically download the latest firmware when it's released. The only way to determine if it's been updated is to look at the Device Status page at http://setup.ooma.com and compare it to what you had previously.

amarryat
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by amarryat » Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:04 am

WayneDsr wrote:The hub does not have that capability built in the hardware, so it's safe to say the hub will not ever have it.
The Telo, however, does.

Wayne
Seems strange. Aren't they simply tones? Especially if the "high bandwidth" codec is used, shouldn't those tones get through accurately enough to trigger the answering machine?

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Is there the ability to hear touch-tones IN?

Post by southsound » Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:11 am

amarryat wrote:Seems strange. Aren't they simply tones? Especially if the "high bandwidth" codec is used, shouldn't those tones get through accurately enough to trigger the answering machine?
The hub (and currently the Telo) actualy have a mute function that is triggered by DTMF tones. In fact, some people can trigger that mute function with their voice. Like WayneDSR has said, don't expect it on the hub - but after things settle down, it is possible that incoming DTMF will be able to pass through the Telo. I would feel a little uncomfortable making a buying decision based on that hope because there has been no date associated with it.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply