How do I forward a Port with Ooma installed?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
dbgrl100
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:58 am

How do I forward a Port with Ooma installed?

Post by dbgrl100 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:09 am

When I was using a router (Linksys RTP300) and a modem (Comcast RCA) only, I had multiple ports set up and forwarded. I've installed Ooma now, and while it's lovely and works like a dream, I have to start over and forward my ports again.

Except I have no clue in hell where to start.

Are there any websites that help with this? I used to use portforward.com, but I don't think they have Ooma listed there. If you have successfully forwarded your ports, please give some advice.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: How do I forward a Port with Ooma installed?

Post by Groundhound » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:38 am

This may also apply to your situation: http://www.ooma.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=29410#p29410

If you want to forward ports individually, you can on the same setup page referenced in the link.

dknyinva
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 7:21 am
Contact:

Re: How do I forward a Port with Ooma installed?

Post by dknyinva » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:43 am

What is your configuration?

modem --> router --> ooma OR
modem --> ooma --> router

If the latter, then you don't need to change anything on your router port forward settings. Just go into your ooma setup url http://setup.ooma.com and change your DHCP Configuration to be the same for both Start and End Addresses, 172.27.35.x. Enter this same address in the DMZ line and click Update. Reboot your router, so it will take the new address assigned by ooma.

I noticed Groundhound was already ahead of me on this.. :P

Post Reply