Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
terrio00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:06 pm

Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by terrio00 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:18 pm

Wondering if anyone has experienced this: Every time I pick up my handset, the ooma hub begins a recycle, like it was just unplugged and plugged back in. The Ooma worked fine for 9 months and all of a sudden this problem has developed. Nothing has changed on my end. My setup is cable modem >Ooma>wireless router. Things I've tried:
1) placed Ooma after wireless router
2) Reset modem, ooma, router
3) hard reset of Ooma (hold ooma tab while powering on)

I've tried customer support (OMG, pray to whatever god you believe in that you never have to!!) and was walked through all troubleshooting steps, 3 times!!! They promise that they will make notes for tech support and to wait 72 hours. (its been 8 days now). If this is truly a hardware problem, which I believe it is, does anyone here know the number or email of a stateside human that can fast track the replacement of my hub? I'm within my warranty period.. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:36 pm

Are you using an old cordless phone? DECT 6 phones work well with a wireless internet, but sometimes the old cordless phones work for awhile then change channels and suddenly take the internet down.

You might want to try a different phone (corded) for a test.

Wayne

terrio00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by terrio00 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:50 pm

I've been using a dect for the last 9 months without issue. I did try a corded though and same problem.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:54 pm

Disconnect your phone.
Press PLAY on the ooma hub.
Can you listen to voicemail?
If so, you can connect to the ooma servers. Make sure you're plugging the phone into the PHONE port of ooma. Try using a different phone cable.

Wayne

terrio00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by terrio00 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:35 pm

I can hear voicemail from the ooma hub but 3 different phones and 3 different phone cords plugged into the phone port give the same results, the hub resets when I pick up the phone.

terrio00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by terrio00 » Thu Sep 24, 2009 6:36 am

I brought the Hub to work and it works fine. It must be my modem although I hane not changed anything recently. I wonder if comcast did anything on their end like new firmware. I have a linksys cm100 modem. Anyone have any suggestions?

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by niknak » Thu Sep 24, 2009 7:09 am

...I wonder if comcast did anything on their end like new firmware...?
it's possible they did...mnake sure the hub is set to use its built-in mac address - not automatic, the cable modem could be looking at the wrong mac address

terrio00
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:06 pm

Re: Ooma Hub keeps resetting

Post by terrio00 » Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:11 pm

Figured it out. If anyone is having problems with ooma disconnecting or powering down/powering up constantly, check your power adapter. I use a 12v power distributer in a leviton structured media center. Basically it is one AC adapter that plugs into a wall socket and then all my electronics plug into that (modem,router,ooma,cable amp, ect) Anyway, the AC adapter to the power distributer must have gone bad. I replaced it and everything is working now. By the way, if you are sick of dealing with the United Nations customer support center, call this number for American (California) tech support: 1 408 490 1437

Post Reply