Media Sharing

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
dbridgedale
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:11 am

Media Sharing

Post by dbridgedale » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:18 am

Since I installed the Ooma Hub (DSL line from wall - to hub - to Router/Modem) I lost Media Sharing with DirectV Reciever. If I disconnect hub, problem goes away. If I connect hub in parallel with Router/Modem, problem goes away, hub light goes blue temporarily the goes red and am unable to make/receive calls.

Any suggestions?

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Media Sharing

Post by tommies » Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:24 pm

dbridgedale wrote:Since I installed the Ooma Hub (DSL line from wall - to hub - to Router/Modem) I lost Media Sharing with DirectV Reciever. If I disconnect hub, problem goes away. If I connect hub in parallel with Router/Modem, problem goes away, hub light goes blue temporarily the goes red and am unable to make/receive calls.

Any suggestions?
Does your modem/router a combo device or separated devices? I don't know if it's possible to put ooma hub before the modem.

If it's a combo device, there is only one option
[modem/router combo] -> hub + pc's
(ie DSL wall to modem/router combo to hub and pc's)

if they are separated, there are two options
modem -> hub -> router -> pc's
(ie DSL wall go into modem to hub to router, etc.)
or
modem -> router -> hub and pc's
(ie DSL wall go into modem to hub and pc's)

Which one of the above is your setup? I assum that your Dtv connects to router.
tommies

dbridgedale
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:11 am

Re: Media Sharing

Post by dbridgedale » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:07 am

The Modem/Router is a combo.

Your first option I tried:
If it's a combo device, there is only one option
[modem/router combo] -> hub + pc's
(ie DSL wall to modem/router combo to hub and pc's)
But when I try this, the Ooma hub stopped working. The Ooma tab went blue initially after powering up, then started flashing red after about 5 minutes. I am wondering if the firewall is blocking this type of connection. Or I need to do some addition configuration with Ooma.


- Background -
The only way that works is(Series connection):
DSL Line from Wall connects to Modem/Router Combo
Modem/Router Combo connects to Ooma Hub(Modem Port)
Ooma Hub(Home Port) Connects to PC.

The way I need it to work(for networking):
DSL Line from Wall connects to Modem/Router Combo
Modem/Router Combo connects to Ooma Hub(Modem Port)
Modem/Router Combo connects to PC.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Media Sharing

Post by tommies » Mon Sep 14, 2009 11:32 am

I believe some configuration on the ooma is needed. To do this, you need to temporary connect a pc to the HOME port of the ooma, and then point your browser to http://setup.ooma.com or http://172.27.35.1 to access ooma web interface

note
Chrome is having trouble display this page
some anti-virus (like Kaspersky, ...) would block this page

Go to the Network Settings page and change its MODEM port MAC address to use its build in MAC. Then click update button.

Reboot both ooma and your pc.

There is one optional step you'll might want to try before rebooting.

Go to the Advanced Settings page and copy the HOME port ip (should be 172.27.35.1) onto the hub DMZ. this would later allow you to access the ooma setup page from your LAN using the ip address assigned to ooma(you see this ip in ooma Status page)

It's highly recommend that you assign a static ip for the ooma and configure QoS in your router setting to give ooma higher priority.
dbridgedale wrote:The Modem/Router is a combo.

Your first option I tried:
If it's a combo device, there is only one option
[modem/router combo] -> hub + pc's
(ie DSL wall to modem/router combo to hub and pc's)
But when I try this, the Ooma hub stopped working. The Ooma tab went blue initially after powering up, then started flashing red after about 5 minutes. I am wondering if the firewall is blocking this type of connection. Or I need to do some addition configuration with Ooma.


- Background -
The only way that works is(Series connection):
DSL Line from Wall connects to Modem/Router Combo
Modem/Router Combo connects to Ooma Hub(Modem Port)
Ooma Hub(Home Port) Connects to PC.

The way I need it to work(for networking):
DSL Line from Wall connects to Modem/Router Combo
Modem/Router Combo connects to Ooma Hub(Modem Port)
Modem/Router Combo connects to PC.
tommies

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Media Sharing

Post by niknak » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:12 pm

...the way I need it to work(for networking):
DSL Line from Wall connects to Modem/Router Combo
Modem/Router Combo connects to Ooma Hub(Modem Port)
Modem/Router Combo connects to PC
...
You probably need to disable DHCP on the hub and assign it a static address in the range specified in your router's setup

Post Reply