Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
SUBVET
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by SUBVET » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:05 am

I'm back. I don't know what is wrong but my browser will not pull up the ooma.setup location. Any ideas????

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:10 am

If you are saying that you get to the page, but cannot view it correctly, disable your anti virus program on the pc.

If you have the ooma hub behind the router (as you would a pc) then you need to attach a pc directly to the HOME port on the ooma hub.

If you have ooma between the modem and router you should be able to connect using http://setup.ooma.com or http://172.27.35.1

Wayne

SUBVET
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by SUBVET » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:52 am

Wayne:

I am on a fiber opt. line and do not have a modem. Current setup is ISP to the router and then feeds to pc, ooma, etc. I only saw the setup page when first signing up.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:02 pm

Connect a pc or laptop to the HOME port on the ooma hub.

Type in http://setup.ooma.com

You will get to the setup.
However, since you have the ooma hub plugged into your router and nothing is connected to the HOME port you do not really need to access the ooma setup for anything, your router controlls everything.

Wayne

SUBVET
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by SUBVET » Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:41 pm

Wayne:

I cabled into the pc as you said and finally found the home page and the status page. Interesting point............which would be the best cable hookup the one I currently have or the original setup I had??????? Both seem to work okay.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:39 pm

In my opinion you are fine with ooma setup as you are now.
While in the setup page, in the DMZ field type in ooma's ip address.

172.27.35.1

This will allow you to get to setup via your pc without having to connect to the HOME port of ooma.

Wayne

SUBVET
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:04 am

Re: Phone Line: Connected or Disconnected

Post by SUBVET » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:41 pm

Thanks, I appreciate the help. Until the next problem.

SubVet

Post Reply