Really confused on Port Forwarding

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Really confused on Port Forwarding

Post by dtalwar » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:00 pm

atici- I have the same setup except my Hub is not in the DMZ, it is just another device connected to the router. It works fine. Should it really be in the DMZ? (I have asked the question before but the answer was why bother with it when it is working ok, I guess I am just curious about the reason why you have it in the DMZ.)

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Really confused on Port Forwarding

Post by niknak » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:03 pm

If the hub is in the DMZ you can access the setup.ooma.com by page or ip address from any pc on your network rather than through the ooma's home port

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: Really confused on Port Forwarding

Post by atici » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:37 pm

So do you have modem-> router-> ooma then?

If so go to Advanced-> Gamefuel in DGL-4500 preferences and set a relatively low priority for ooma (I have 10). Also in order to do that you gotta have DHCP reservation for ooma so that it's always assigned the same ip by the router.

You don't need to put ooma on DMZ. If things work, you're good to go. I did it to be on the safe side. Basically ooma is recommended to be first in the chain in the manual. By placing it in DMZ, you ensure it has almost the same privileges as being the first in the chain.

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Really confused on Port Forwarding

Post by dtalwar » Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:42 pm

I do have modem -> router -> Ooma. Reserved DHCP addresses for all devices. QoS Priority set to a low number as you said. The Hub is not in the DMZ. Everything works fine. I will leave the configuration as it is.

Post Reply