Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
joon82
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:55 pm

Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by joon82 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:01 pm

Getting really bad lag in WOW and warcraft3 and all the games I play.
Really bad i cant even play them.
anybody having same problem?
I'm using charter cable 10/2mb up
It lags even when I'm not using the phone.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by scottlindner » Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:22 pm

Give us a few more details regarding your configuration. I am going to make a few assumptions and address them, but they may not apply.

If you have DSL you'll need to put a DSL filter before the Ooma Hub on the Wall port. The reason this would cause you problems is the HPNA used to communicate with the Scout uses the same band as the DSL. They could be conflicting and causing you all sorts of problems. The DSL filter should solve this.

If you have the Ooma Hub as your first device, try putting it behind your router instead. Does this help? If this works, there are other considerations with this configuration before you declare victory. So let us know if this works and you want to pursue this as your solution.

That's it for my assumptions and resolutions for now. Looking forward to your response. I firmly believe there is a solution to the problem so don't get discouraged. There are many knowledgeable people here that will be able to help you.

Welcome to Ooma!

Cheers,
Scott

EDIT: I just reread your post. You answered one of my questions. You have cable. Disregard my DSL stuff and try just the second suggestion. Sorry about that.

joon82
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:55 pm

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by joon82 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:25 pm

my cable modem is connected to wireless router and ooma hub is connected to my wireless router. all my desktop/laptops use wireless.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by scottlindner » Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:33 pm

Wow... now you've stumped me. I didn't expect that one.

Without restarting the router it all works fine if you disconnect the Ooma Hub?

Could you try resetting the Ooma Hub? I think the trick is to push down on the blue tab, unplug, and plug back in with the blue tab pushed down throughout. I *think* that's how you do the reset. I wonder if the Ooma Hub is hammering on the router due to an invalid configuration. Like repeatedly requesting IP addresses using DHCP, or something like that. It's a long shot, but I have seen that reset trick work for things like this in the past. I just can't remember confidently if that's the way to do the reset or not. I'll do a quick search if I can find it.

Scott

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:01 pm

Did you happen to setup Qos rules on your router that may be prioritizing other traffic and forcing your "game" traffic to be delayed?
Go AVS!

joon82
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:55 pm

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by joon82 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:10 pm

I cant set up QoS so im guessing its on automatic
its old d-link

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by scottlindner » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:17 pm

Aveamantium wrote:Did you happen to setup Qos rules on your router that may be prioritizing other traffic and forcing your "game" traffic to be delayed?
Wouldn't that problem exist even without the Ooma Hub connected, or is there something else I am not considering?

Scott

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:20 pm

And I'm assuming you've tried to power off the ooma and check to see if the delay goes away?

Have you tried putting the ooma in front of the router just so the router doesn't "see" the ooma anymore? You should be able to make your ooma transparent to your network (unless you're on a call) by doing the following:

Configure your setup as follows Modem -ooma - router.

Go to the router and see what IP address is assigned to it by the ooma (should be 172.27.35.X range).

Enter this IP address into the ooma's DMZ (this will pass all traffic to the router, basically taking the ooma's NAT/firewall out of the equation).
Go AVS!

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Bad Lag in the game when Ooma hub is connected

Post by Aveamantium » Fri Jul 03, 2009 6:22 pm

scottlindner wrote:
Aveamantium wrote:Did you happen to setup Qos rules on your router that may be prioritizing other traffic and forcing your "game" traffic to be delayed?
Wouldn't that problem exist even without the Ooma Hub connected, or is there something else I am not considering?

Scott
Unless it is currently prioritizing voice traffic where it wasn't prior to the implementation of the ooma. I wasn't sure what joon82 had done as part of installing the ooma to his/her network.
Go AVS!

Post Reply