Ooma and dail up internet?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
User avatar
mspitz081387
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:48 pm
Location: South California
Contact:

Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by mspitz081387 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:12 pm

Hello, I was wondering if i could connect to the internet with 56k dail up service, using the ooma line? Is this possible?
Attachments
n27936144375_774968_4599.jpg
n27936144375_774968_4599.jpg (6.87 KiB) Viewed 5239 times

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by scottlindner » Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:17 pm

That would be a really tight fit, but it might work.

Dial up and give this URL a shot and post the results.
http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html

Cheers,
Scott

User avatar
mspitz081387
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:48 pm
Location: South California
Contact:

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by mspitz081387 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:38 pm

i got it to work, its very slow though, and you must dial *99 before connecting. I used the website you mentioned and go the results.

Here they are:

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: -- ms
Jitter: server --> you: -- ms
Packet loss: you --> server: -- %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 100.0 %
Estimated MOS score: --

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 13216 bps
Upload speed: 13704 bps
Download quality of service: 68 %
Upload quality of service: -- %
Download test type: HTTP
Upload test type: HTTP
Maximum TCP delay: 1360 ms
Average download pause: 880 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 477 ms
Average round trip time to server: 495 ms
Estimated download bandwidth: 18400bps
Route concurrency: 1.3922518
Download TCP forced idle: 0 %
Maximum route speed: 1099112bps

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by niknak » Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:09 pm

Your round-trip times and TCP delay are way too high to run VOIP. Also 100% of your packets are scrambled!
Even though you might have an advertised 56kbps dial up line, you are only getting 13kbps up/down. Ooma requires approximately 48kbps bandwidth minimum

daet
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Metairie, LA

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by daet » Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:29 pm

I think there is a misunderstanding of what mspitz081387 is trying to do. He isn't trying to use his ooma/VoIP over a dial-up line.

He is trying to use ooma "phone line" as a transport for his 56k dial-up modem. Why? I have no idea, but there are some services (eg. used by realtors) that require dial-up.

Conceptually, it is similar to sending and receiving faxes that a fax machine connected to the ooma-provided phone line.

The characteristics of his dial-up through ooma are approximately similar to what I have observed for sending faxes .....

DG
Ooma customer since April 2009
Ooma equipment: Hub ; Telo + 4 handsets
Ooma service: Annual Premier subscription

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by niknak » Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:36 pm

OOhh ok thankss for clearing that up!
t's late now and I must have misread his post!
( I should have known when he mentioned *99 Dialing)
:)

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:56 pm

Then why did he include a speed test?

Confused as usual.

Wayne

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by niknak » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:05 pm

...Confused as usual...
True Wayne, I'm not sure what the original intent is...

If OP already has Ooma with a high speed connection, and wants to use a modem in his pc to connect to a service that only has modem access, there should not be a problem with dialup since both modems will "handshake" down to a common acceptable speed using PPP
If OP is asking to use ooma with only dialup internet access then the speed tests prove it is not going to work
Last edited by niknak on Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mspitz081387
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:48 pm
Location: South California
Contact:

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by mspitz081387 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:09 pm

My original use for it was to use free dial up services (they are many free local access numbers) on the ooma line, to have the ability to have multiple ip addresses.

Speed test was to show everyone how slow it really is. just something that thought i try, seemed interesting.

daet
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Metairie, LA

Re: Ooma and dail up internet?

Post by daet » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:10 pm

WayneDsr wrote:Then why did he include a speed test?

Confused as usual.

Wayne
Because someone misinterpreted his original message, and suggested he run a speedtest to determine if "ooma would work over dial-up", so to speak.

And he did one, presumably to test how reliable/usable it would be.
Ooma customer since April 2009
Ooma equipment: Hub ; Telo + 4 handsets
Ooma service: Annual Premier subscription

Post Reply