New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
rajphone
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:26 am

New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by rajphone » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:36 am

Hello friends,

I activated my new ooma and I chose a temp number. When I try to call the temp number I keep getting the message "We're Sorry. You have reached a number that has been disconnected or no longer in service ...". If I make a call to the temp number from my cell phone it works consistently but if I call from my vonage number (soon to be ported) or from Skype it fails most of the times BUT it did ring few times. It is very random.

I also started the porting process but the above mentioned problem was there before even I started the porting process.

I didn't change any of my current setup and I connected a new phone separately to the ooma system. My plan is to leave the current phone connected to my vonage modem until the porting is successfully done.

Any pointers would help.

Thanks
Last edited by rajphone on Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by scottlindner » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:22 am

Without knowing anything about how the telephone system works, could this be somewhat like a DNS update where it ripples through the system, and guaranteed within 24 hours but some people might get the update within seconds?

Cheers,
Scott

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by bw1 » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:28 am

Since it seems to be inconsistent and is with your new temp number, I suspect it could be an issue with the carrier that ooma partners with in your area. I would keep a log of the times and number called from for several calls that connected and didn't connect and contact customer service by phone. They open at 11:00 ET.

Some things to check:
  • There's a troubleshooting guide in the back of the ooma User Guide.
    Reboot/reset your ooma hub by removing the power for 60 seconds and plugging back in (to also reset hold down the ooma tab).
    You have a blue light on the tab of the ooma hub.
    No other lights are lit on the ooma hub.
    You're not configured to use a landline.
    You're not forwarding your Vonage number.
    When it rings, you can answer from ooma and it works.
    Press play on the hub and you get to the ooma voice mail.
    Check http://setup.ooma.com and check the status page for 3 connected network status's and 4 running services.
    Run a speed test here: http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html.
    If your connection is modem -> ooma -> router, try modem -> router -> ooma or vice versa.

rajphone
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:26 am

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by rajphone » Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:25 am

bw1 wrote:Some things to check:
  • There's a troubleshooting guide in the back of the ooma User Guide.
    Reboot/reset your ooma hub by removing the power for 60 seconds and plugging back in (to also reset hold down the ooma tab).
    You have a blue light on the tab of the ooma hub.
    No other lights are lit on the ooma hub.
    You're not configured to use a landline.
    You're not forwarding your Vonage number.
    When it rings, you can answer from ooma and it works.
    Press play on the hub and you get to the ooma voice mail.
    Check http://setup.ooma.com and check the status page for 3 connected network status's and 4 running services.
    Run a speed test here: http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html.
    If your connection is modem -> ooma -> router, try modem -> router -> ooma or vice versa.
I did all the above but no luck. I also emailed customer support.

BTW, http://setup.ooma.com/ link does not work for me. I get this error:
"DNS error - cannot find server"

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by scottlindner » Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:30 am

rajphone wrote:
bw1 wrote:Some things to check:
  • There's a troubleshooting guide in the back of the ooma User Guide.
    Reboot/reset your ooma hub by removing the power for 60 seconds and plugging back in (to also reset hold down the ooma tab).
    You have a blue light on the tab of the ooma hub.
    No other lights are lit on the ooma hub.
    You're not configured to use a landline.
    You're not forwarding your Vonage number.
    When it rings, you can answer from ooma and it works.
    Press play on the hub and you get to the ooma voice mail.
    Check http://setup.ooma.com and check the status page for 3 connected network status's and 4 running services.
    Run a speed test here: http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html.
    If your connection is modem -> ooma -> router, try modem -> router -> ooma or vice versa.
I did all the above but no luck. I also emailed customer support.

BTW, http://setup.ooma.com/ link does not work for me. I get this error:
"DNS error - cannot find server"
How did you wire up the Ooma Hub? you need to be plugged into the Home port for that to work.

Scott

buzzman
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by buzzman » Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:38 am

Is it possible that the temp number once belonged to Vonage/Skype and they never "released" the number from their database even though it has been disconnected? If that's the case, I don't know any way around it.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by WayneDsr » Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:41 am

Do not rely on emailing ooma. Call Customer Support at 888-711-6662 for instant service and your problem could be corrected quickly.

Wayne

rajphone
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:26 am

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by rajphone » Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:58 am

scottlindner wrote:
How did you wire up the Ooma Hub? you need to be plugged into the Home port for that to work.

Scott
I wired up like this: modem -> router -> ooma, computer

To get the link working I think I have to wire up like this:
modem -> ooma -> router -> computer
modem -> router -> ooma -> computer
correct?

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by scottlindner » Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:08 am

There is no right or wrong.

If you put the Ooma first, it will take care of your QoS for you, but is limited as a router. This can be an issue if you need to do more complex home network things such as port forwarding, additional DHCP stuff, etc. If you put your router first, then you have the full power of your router for your network, but you may need to address QoS settings in your router to ensure your Ooma calls go smoothly. There are plenty of people that have gone either route. It really depends on your knowledge level and needs.

Depending on your preference to Ooma then router, or router then Ooma changes how you gain access to setup.ooma.com

Cheers,
Scott

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: New customer facing a problem with temp number.

Post by bw1 » Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:16 am

rajphone wrote:
scottlindner wrote:
How did you wire up the Ooma Hub? you need to be plugged into the Home port for that to work.

Scott
I wired up like this: modem -> router -> ooma, computer

To get the link working I think I have to wire up like this:
modem -> ooma -> router -> computer
modem -> router -> ooma -> computer
correct?
That's correct for the simplest way to get to http://setup.ooma.com

With your setup you should be able to get there with this IP address:
http://172.27.35.1

You could also add the URL and IP address to your etc\hosts file.

Post Reply