Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#10324 by champ
Tue May 26, 2009 9:23 pm
Ooma gives 3000 minutes per month.
Does this include incoming calls too or just the dialed out calls.
Can someone clarify this.
Thanks
#10326 by murphy
Wed May 27, 2009 2:57 am
Dialed out calls. They make money on incoming calls.
#10328 by scottlindner
Wed May 27, 2009 5:22 am
murphy wrote:Dialed out calls. They make money on incoming calls.

Really? I'm glad I call my wife frequently on the second line which is the only way I know I'm getting the Ooma service.

How does that work anyway?

I like the idea of a report or even a warning as you are approaching the limit. I also would like to see forgiveness if you're a Premier user.

Scott
#10329 by doug
Wed May 27, 2009 6:18 am
scottlindner wrote:How does that work anyway?

I'm not an expert, but this is how I think it works. For calls which involve a traditional landline or cell phone provider on at least one end of the conversation, the caller's phone company pays a small per minute rate to company which terminates the call.

Thus Ooma collects a small amount of money per minute on incoming calls, but has to pay a small amount per minute on outgoing calls. Calls from one Ooma user to another Ooma just use the internet so would not involve the call fees associated with the phone network.

I presume the Ooma business model counts on the revenue from incoming calls to roughly balance its costs for terminating outgoing calls, and the 3000 minute limit on outgoing calls is to ensure they can't lose too much money servicing a customer with abnormal usage patterns.

That is, typical residential usage would by and large have a mix of both incoming and outgoing calls. However, somebody doing telemarketing would be almost all outgoing calls and thus tip the scale to where it costs Ooma a disproportionate amount to continue providing service to the user.