porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by scottlindner » Thu May 21, 2009 12:36 pm

This isn't an urgent question but I am curious. If at any time I want to stop using Ooma and go back to my traditional landline telephone provider, can I port my number back?

Cheers,
Scott

User avatar
jmassimilla
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Burlington County, South Jersey

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by jmassimilla » Thu May 21, 2009 1:11 pm

I know that Verizon will port a number back if you request it. I'm sure that other telcos would also.
Customer since Feb 2009
2 Hub/Scout
1 Telo/Handset
Lifetime Premier Subscriber

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by scottlindner » Thu May 21, 2009 1:27 pm

Ah.. that helps to understand. I will contact our local provider and ask.

trim81
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:14 pm

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by trim81 » Thu May 21, 2009 3:01 pm

you can cancel the port up until 36 hours of your expected porting date.

You must contact OOma to cancel the port... not ATT

Pandora
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by Pandora » Thu May 21, 2009 5:12 pm

If Ooma goes belly up, they don't send regular bills, or provide conventional billing information. It may be difficult to port out our numbers from Ooma in that event.

Dennis P (an Ooma moderator) has indicated Ooma does permit porting out of ported in numbers.

My only real concern is if Ooma fails. There doesn't seem to be a way to get a bill from them. Most porting I've done requires a recent bill.

Even Ooma requires a recent bill to port a number in. It appears Ooma hasn't thought out the situation they are leaving customers in.

doug
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:24 pm

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by doug » Thu May 21, 2009 5:53 pm

Pandora wrote:If Ooma goes belly up, they don't send regular bills, or provide conventional billing information. It may be difficult to port out our numbers from Ooma in that event.
Having not done the porting yet, I am intrigued by this comment. Porting a number back in the event of unforeseen circumstances beyond our control is a worry I have seen mentioned on the forums previously. Are you saying that having a recent bill showing you currently have the number may allow another provider to get the number ported to them?

Would paying for Premiere service monthly instead of annually then make it possible or at least increase the likelihood of being able to port a number back? At only $5/mth more vs annual billing, that would be cheap insurance. Certainly cheaper than keeping the number on a basic landline instead of porting it. I for one would be willing to pay it if it made the difference on viability in porting back in the future.

Addressing this concern may help encourage people on the fence to actually switch to Ooma. Does anyone really know what another provider may need in the way of documentation for a port? Could monthly call logs serve as a type of statement, along with the last annual Premiere bill if under a year old?

Pandora
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by Pandora » Thu May 21, 2009 6:12 pm

The problem for me is Ooma doesn't seem to take any interest in conventional billing. A bill should show the customer name, phone number and account number.

Ooma doesn't provide this on a regular basis. We could try to take some screen shots, but generally Ooma screen shots don't seem to fit into a bill.

It would be nice if Ooma had an account page in the lounge, indicating any balance due (which would almost always be 0) and an ability to just print a bill. That or the option to get a monthly account statement from them via email.

User avatar
jmassimilla
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Burlington County, South Jersey

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by jmassimilla » Fri May 22, 2009 3:38 am

Any time that I've previously ported my number, I've never needed a bill. Porting to ooma was the only time I've needed one.
Customer since Feb 2009
2 Hub/Scout
1 Telo/Handset
Lifetime Premier Subscriber

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by scottlindner » Fri May 22, 2009 4:45 am

Pandora wrote:The problem for me is Ooma doesn't seem to take any interest in conventional billing. A bill should show the customer name, phone number and account number.

Ooma doesn't provide this on a regular basis. We could try to take some screen shots, but generally Ooma screen shots don't seem to fit into a bill.

It would be nice if Ooma had an account page in the lounge, indicating any balance due (which would almost always be 0) and an ability to just print a bill. That or the option to get a monthly account statement from them via email.
Maybe this should be a feature request. Could be awesome, they send you a monthly PDF showing you owe nothing. :-)

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: porting, can I bring my number back to my landline provider?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri May 22, 2009 7:13 am

:-)

Wayne

Post Reply