Network outage recovery

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
MLXXXp
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Network outage recovery

Post by MLXXXp » Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:29 am

Is it common for the Telo to loose network connection and then require a manual reboot to recover?

Yesterday morning, I noticed the Ooma logo on my Telo was flashing red, indicating a connection problem. I browsed to the Telo's web server home page and the "Ooma Network" status said something like "waiting to connect" (sorry, I should have noted the exact message). My Internet was up and I had no problem using it with my PC. My configuration is: cable modem to router to Telo.

I left the Telo in that state for over an hour but it didn't recover on its own. I then unplugged the Telo's power adapter, waited about a minute, and then plugged it back in. The Telo booted and established a good connection quickly. I didn't touch the modem or router. The Telo, modem, router and my cordless phone base are all on a common UPS so there was no power glitch or failure.

This is the first and only time I've had this problem, so far, in the 4 months that I've had it running.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:32 am

Not common problem. Try hooking up the Telo on another router LAN port.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

MLXXXp
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:46 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by MLXXXp » Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:49 am

lbmofo wrote:Try hooking up the Telo on another router LAN port.
Why? I didn't have to do anything to the router to get the Telo to reconnect on the current port when the Telo was manually rebooted.

One, and only one, failure doesn't provide enough statistical data to determine if moving to another port makes any difference. Scientific practice says that you leave things as they are until it fails the same way some more times and then switch ports to see if anything changes.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:03 am

In general, when I had my Hub & Telo connected via LAN, I never had to reboot the Ooma device to regain internet connectivity or VPN to Ooma central. During a small stretch, I had to reboot the Telo periodically. Since I switched the LAN port on the Telo, it has never happened again. The port in question, now, a computer is on it.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Mensra
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by Mensra » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:13 pm

I for one have had this problem more than once. If nobody else is having this problem I find that very hard to believe. I will have OOMA flashing red, until I actually repower it will stay flashing red for an extended period of time.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by thunderbird » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:47 pm

Normally when using an Ooma Telo with a network cable connection, it will auto restart by itself when there is a power outage.

When the Ooma Telo is connected to the LAN side of the Router using a network cable, to help with this problem when the Ooma Telo doesn't auto restart when power is restored, some people have had to assign a permanent IP address in their Router for the Ooma Telo.

When using the Wireless Wi-Fi USB network connection, the Ooma Telo auto restart feature has been less reliable.

Mensra
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by Mensra » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:07 pm

This is not a power outage issue because everything is on battery backup. I have my system set up modem to OOMA to router. The OOMA is configured to DHCP from the modem.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by thunderbird » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:20 pm

Mensra wrote:This is not a power outage issue because everything is on battery backup. I have my system set up modem to OOMA to router. The OOMA is configured to DHCP from the modem.
Setting up a static IP address in Ooma Setup may help.

In Ooma Setup>Internet page, a Static IP address (obtained from your Modem, found by selecting the Ooma Setup Status tab) can be setup.

If you need help setting up the static IP address in Ooma Setup, let me know.

Mensra
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by Mensra » Thu Jun 06, 2013 4:43 pm

I cannot set up static IP address because my modem is in bridge mode and assigns an WAN IP to the OOMA from my ISP. The Telo still has an IP, but cannot connect to the OOMA servers.

EX Bell
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Network outage recovery

Post by EX Bell » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:46 pm

Might be a firmware glitch that pops up on occasion. Usually my Telo, which is connected via ethernet and has an IP assigned in my router via MAC address, does recover. However, on occasion it does not, but it is not the norm.

A TWO MINUTE power down is suggested when this occurs and it will return the Telo to normal.
Customer Since: 1/17/12
Service: Premier 1/30/2012
BELL Canada Port: 1/30/12 - 2/13/12
TekSavvy via BELL FTTN: 25 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: Sagemcom 2864 > Cisco E2000 > Time Capsule v1 > Telo
Handsets: Panasonic KX-TG6655S DECT 6.0

Post Reply