Page 1 of 2

How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:53 am
by randyw57
I keep checking the box for 'Allow access to web interface from Wireless/Internet port'.
It seems like after the Ooma gets restarted that setting ends up getting turned off.
Is there something I can do to make the setting permanent?
Or figure out what is happening that causes it to get unset?

Thanks

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:30 am
by thunderbird
randyw57 wrote:I keep checking the box for 'Allow access to web interface from Wireless/Internet port'.
It seems like after the Ooma gets restarted that setting ends up getting turned off.
Is there something I can do to make the setting permanent?
Or figure out what is happening that causes it to get unset?

Thanks
Port Forward 172.27.35.1 port 80 instead.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:39 am
by Tom
Currently the setting will only disable itself if you switch from wired to wireless or vice versa. At one point this was considered a security precaution, but there's a bug open to change that behavior.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:03 am
by lbmofo
thunderbird wrote:
randyw57 wrote:I keep checking the box for 'Allow access to web interface from Wireless/Internet port'.
It seems like after the Ooma gets restarted that setting ends up getting turned off.
Is there something I can do to make the setting permanent?
Or figure out what is happening that causes it to get unset?

Thanks
Port Forward 172.27.35.1 port 80 instead.
More detail... Setup port forwarding rule within Ooma setup page so you can access http://setup.ooma.com without having to connect your computer to the "Home Network" port in the future. viewtopic.php?t=11921#p83732

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:56 pm
by randyw57
OK, well when that box for 'Allow access to web ..' is checked I have no problem accessing the Ooma Setup pages
wirelessly using the IP address of the Ooma Wireless Adapter.
I do know that the setting is getting turned off.
I suspected it might be due to switching from wired to wireless.
But I have a suspicion it is happening in other cases as well.
The Ooma doesn't drop the setting every time I restart it. So it is more than a restart.
I'd bet the setting might be tied to the IP address.
I'll keep an eye on it and see if I can spot the situation when the setting is lost.

Seems to me that the Ooma port forwarding is a work around for this setting not sticking.
Would there be any reason to do the port forwarding if the Ooma always responded to the IP address
of the Ooma Wireless Adapter? What else do I gain other than access to setup.ooma.com?

Thanks.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:17 pm
by thunderbird
The Web access can drop out on it's own sometimes. So I use the port forwarding as a backup.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:43 pm
by randyw57
Yep, I see what you mean.
I had the web access turned on this afternoon.
Disconnected my Ethernet cable from the Ooma.
Tested the access from my browser. Worked fine.
Tried it a few more times.
Then we had supper and watched some TV.
I just tried it now and it wouldn't work.
Reconnected the Ethernet cable and checked the setting. It is turned off again.

I wonder if there is a log or something in the Ooma?
Maybe it restarted while I was away.
That's pretty strange.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:55 pm
by randyw57
Well, this is interesting.
I just posted that reply.
Looked over at the Ooma.
It was flashing red. It restarted.
It has restarted on its own several times while I have been sitting here.
And I just checked the Allow access setting.
It is again turned off.

I think the Ooma is in distress. It seems to be in a restart loop now.
I think I will power it down.

Some kind of failure/restart must be causing that setting to get turned off.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:06 pm
by Tom
This is fixed in an upcoming release. Some customers already have the fix. It's in build >=77309.

Re: How to keep 'Allow access to web ....'

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:28 am
by randyw57
How can I tell what build I am using?