caller ID on HDTV

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Ricker
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:40 am
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

caller ID on HDTV

Post by Ricker » Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:54 pm

Once again, not sure if this topic has been covered.

I need to know how to get my caller ID feature "back" working on my HDTV. I lost it when I cancelled my landline/analog phone service.
Customer Since: 11/13/12
Hardware: Telo with 1 HD2
Service: Premier 11/23/12
Century Link Port: 11/13/12 - 11/19/12
Internet ISP: Comcast
Speed 50MB/10MB
Other Handsets: Uniden D1680-4XT
Router: Cisco Linksys EA4500 or Apple Airport Extreme

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by thunderbird » Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:30 pm

Ricker wrote:Once again, not sure if this topic has been covered.

I need to know how to get my caller ID feature "back" working on my HDTV. I lost it when I cancelled my landline/analog phone service.
Make sure that there is a phone line connection from the Ooma Telo Phone port to the phone port on your entertainment provider (like Dish or DirecTV, etc.) box.

Most people just disconnect the Old phone provider telephone wires at the box where the old phone service came in from the street, to feed the house phone jacks, to prevent damage to the Ooma Telo.

Then they route a phone cord from the Ooma Telo Phone port to a house phone wall jack. Then test for Ooma dial tone at all house wall jacks. Then later call your Ooma number with your cell phone and see if the Caller Id appears on you HDTV screen.

dioxide45
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 5:09 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by dioxide45 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:50 pm

We have DirecTV and had to run a phone cord from the back of the Ooma to the DirecTV receiver. You probably still have your receiver (cable, satelite) plugged in to a now disabled wall phone jack.

harry12
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:09 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by harry12 » Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:27 pm

Ricker wrote:Once again, not sure if this topic has been covered.

I need to know how to get my caller ID feature "back" working on my HDTV. I lost it when I cancelled my landline/analog phone service.
If your TV box is comparable to my unit, there is no RJ-11 jack. I have to refer to the handset!

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by thunderbird » Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:20 am

harry12 wrote:
Ricker wrote:Once again, not sure if this topic has been covered.

I need to know how to get my caller ID feature "back" working on my HDTV. I lost it when I cancelled my landline/analog phone service.
If your TV box is comparable to my unit, there is no RJ-11 jack. I have to refer to the handset!
What is the brand and model number of your HDTV?
What is the brand and Model number of entertainment receiver box?
Have you configured your house phone wiring so that you can hear the Ooma dial tone to all house wall jacks?

harry12
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:09 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by harry12 » Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:43 pm

thunderbird wrote:
harry12 wrote:
If your TV box is comparable to my unit, there is no RJ-11 jack. I have to refer to the handset!
What is the brand and model number of your HDTV?
What is the brand and Model number of entertainment receiver box?
Have you configured your house phone wiring so that you can hear the Ooma dial tone to all house wall jacks?
If you are asking me (harry12), my TV is a: 'Sanyo - DP42410', my cable box: a 'Scientific Atlanta - Explorer 8300 HD'. Also, running a Hub. I hear the Ooma dial tone on the two jacks to which I connect. One for my Uniden cordless setup and one for the FAX.
And my caller ID hasn't shown up on the TV since i dropped the cable 'phone and went to Ooma.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by thunderbird » Wed Dec 26, 2012 5:19 pm

Sorry harry12, I meant to ask Ricker the above questions.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by lbmofo » Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:52 pm

I guess the question to anyone would be "how the TV used to get callerid"
Via set top box fed dial tone or?
If dial tone fed something, just do the same with ooma dial tone.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

oper573
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:41 pm

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by oper573 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:48 pm

If connect my directv to the ooma port where do i connect my phone to?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: caller ID on HDTV

Post by lbmofo » Wed Sep 17, 2014 9:27 am

oper573 wrote:If connect my directv to the ooma port where do i connect my phone to?
You can use a duplex splitter.
Something similar to this:
Image
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply