Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#103548 by thejoy
Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:45 pm
Hi, first of all im new to ooma ( so be good to me ! ).

Since I got my ooma I am noticing that my data transfer is about 1.2G per day when my ooma telo is on stand by.

I tried unplugging all my computers from my router leaving only the telo plugged in and that where I get this reading thru my internet providers data chart.

I have my telo plugged right in the cable modem , so its : Cable modem-telo-router

1.2G seems to be quite steep for nealry 24 hrs with no calls.

Is there any way to see the exact upload and download quantity of the telo ?

any suggestions ? what information could help you guys help me ?

thanks alot !
#103550 by thunderbird
Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:38 pm
thejoy wrote:Hi, first of all im new to ooma ( so be good to me ! ).

Since I got my ooma I am noticing that my data transfer is about 1.2G per day when my ooma telo is on stand by.

I tried unplugging all my computers from my router leaving only the telo plugged in and that where I get this reading thru my internet providers data chart.

I have my telo plugged right in the cable modem , so its : Cable modem-telo-router

1.2G seems to be quite steep for nealry 24 hrs with no calls.

Is there any way to see the exact upload and download quantity of the telo ?

any suggestions ? what information could help you guys help me ?

thanks alot !

1.2 G is way too much. Normally it takes just a few kilobytes or less per day.

Try connecting Modem-Router-Ooma and see if that helps.

If you are using a Modem-Ooma-Router connection, and:
If you are looking in Ooma Setup, Status page, Ports, you would have to subtract the Home port data from the Internet data to find out how many bytes are used for a certain period of time. Also when the Ooma Telo is disconnected and restarted, I've noticed that the RX Bytes & TX Bytes don't always zero out.
#103552 by thejoy