Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
thejoy
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:00 pm

Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by thejoy » Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:45 pm

Hi, first of all im new to ooma ( so be good to me ! ).

Since I got my ooma I am noticing that my data transfer is about 1.2G per day when my ooma telo is on stand by.

I tried unplugging all my computers from my router leaving only the telo plugged in and that where I get this reading thru my internet providers data chart.

I have my telo plugged right in the cable modem , so its : Cable modem-telo-router

1.2G seems to be quite steep for nealry 24 hrs with no calls.

Is there any way to see the exact upload and download quantity of the telo ?

any suggestions ? what information could help you guys help me ?

thanks alot !

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by thunderbird » Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:38 pm

thejoy wrote:Hi, first of all im new to ooma ( so be good to me ! ).

Since I got my ooma I am noticing that my data transfer is about 1.2G per day when my ooma telo is on stand by.

I tried unplugging all my computers from my router leaving only the telo plugged in and that where I get this reading thru my internet providers data chart.

I have my telo plugged right in the cable modem , so its : Cable modem-telo-router

1.2G seems to be quite steep for nealry 24 hrs with no calls.

Is there any way to see the exact upload and download quantity of the telo ?

any suggestions ? what information could help you guys help me ?

thanks alot !
1.2 G is way too much. Normally it takes just a few kilobytes or less per day.

Try connecting Modem-Router-Ooma and see if that helps.

If you are using a Modem-Ooma-Router connection, and:
If you are looking in Ooma Setup, Status page, Ports, you would have to subtract the Home port data from the Internet data to find out how many bytes are used for a certain period of time. Also when the Ooma Telo is disconnected and restarted, I've noticed that the RX Bytes & TX Bytes don't always zero out.

thejoy
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:00 pm

Re: Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by thejoy » Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:57 pm

everytime i try and put the telo behind the router, i lose all internet.

Correct me if im wrong :

1-i went into the telo option and put connection type DHCP

then plugged everything modem-router-telo. and then I lose all internet , even on my PC thats plugged into the router. Should I unplug the telo and modem and try a "reboot" ?

" to find out how many bytes are used for a certain period of time" how do we know the certain period of time ?

thx alot
Last edited by thejoy on Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by murphy » Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:59 pm

Every time you change what is connected to a modem it MUST be power cycled. If the modem has a battery, disconnect the battery also.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

thejoy
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:00 pm

Re: Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by thejoy » Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:15 pm

OK, powered down modem/telo/router.

Plugged everything modem-router-telo with telo having the DHCP setting ON.
powered everything back up in order : modem-router-telo

internet is now working and phone is also.

Now how would be the best step to calculate everything going thru the telo ? Since the telo is now behind the router ( the telo is wired to router and not wifi ), should I still set the routers QoS to prioritize the telo ? or is this only necessairy for wireless.

thanks a million.

dknyinva
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 7:21 am
Contact:

Re: Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by dknyinva » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:38 pm

thejoy wrote:Now how would be the best step to calculate everything going thru the telo ?

thanks a million.
If your router support or has a feature called bandwidth management, you can view how much data for a particular device in your network is using similar to the attached image below.
Attachments
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg (40.22 KiB) Viewed 4656 times

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Why is my ooma consuming 1.2G of data when not in use ??

Post by lbmofo » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:41 am

When Ooma is between the modem and router, the RX/TX number difference between the "To Internet" port and "Home Network" port should be the number for Ooma usage.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply