HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by lbmofo » Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:50 pm

murphy wrote:The LG SGEY0003607 is a stereo headset with tip, ring, ring, ring (4 contacts) on the plug. I would not expect it to work with the HD2 which I "assume" has a jack that supports tip, ring, ring (3 contacts).
It works needing a bit of a tweaking at the plug (how far inserted etc).
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

rasa7777
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:47 am

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by rasa7777 » Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:57 pm

FYI,

Today I tested 4 different headsets with the following new firmwares that were pushed to me recently:

BASE Version: 63330 (was 63162, and 63045, and 62596)
HS version: 63327 (was 63034, and 63023, and 62596)
RFP version: 63184 (was 63077, and 63003, and 62780)

All callers report the same problems: they can't hear me due to low volume, and my voice sounds "garbled" or "digitized".

My mouth is about 1 to 1.5 inches away from the headset microphone. This is the same distance it has always been.

Switching to a non-Ooma handset solved the problems.

Sorry I can't be more helpful.
Telo * 2 Telo HD2 handsets * Linx * Bluetooth Adapter * Verizon FiOS 75M/35M

garyn
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:52 am

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by garyn » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:15 pm

See my post here:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14753&p=103053#p103053

I just requested a firmware update and received newer versions than rasa7777 listed and the headset mic is still not working properly.

I've also uploaded a voice mail with and without the headset mic so you can hear the difference.

Ba-Ba-Boosh
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:26 am

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by Ba-Ba-Boosh » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:48 am

Any update on this from Product Management? As far as I'm concerned, I have two unusable phones sitting on my desk. Something as simple as "we're aware of the problem and looking into a fix" would be great. I'm not a fan of spending $100 on 2 phones and having them not work properly out of the gate.

charlie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:46 am

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by charlie » Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:51 am

Ba-Ba-Boosh wrote:Any update on this from Product Management? As far as I'm concerned, I have two unusable phones sitting on my desk. Something as simple as "we're aware of the problem and looking into a fix" would be great. I'm not a fan of spending $100 on 2 phones and having them not work properly out of the gate.
I feel the same way, except I now have 3 unusable phones. I either want to return these or get the problem fixed. I have ulnar nerve neuropathy can can't hold a phone to my ear and people hate speakerphone usage.

Ba-Ba-Boosh
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:26 am

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by Ba-Ba-Boosh » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:34 am

charlie wrote:I feel the same way, except I now have 3 unusable phones. I either want to return these or get the problem fixed. I have ulnar nerve neuropathy can can't hold a phone to my ear and people hate speakerphone usage.
It's extremely disappointing that we haven't received a response on this. I will definitely *not* be recommending the HD2 to anyone else. They seem to make a great set of $100 paperweights though.

User avatar
Jerald
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:46 am
Location: Westminster, CA

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by Jerald » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:42 am

rasa7777 wrote:
Dennis P wrote:Can you post the make/model of the headsets you are using? Are you using a jack adapter of any kind or are they natively the correct size?
I have 4 different headsets but none list the model. Two are Plantronics, and one is a Panasonic. None of them have ever had any issues using a variety of Panasonic and other non-Ooma handsets.

I am not using any sort of adapter. I am plugging the headsets directly into the handsets.
I have the same issue with my HD2 and using a Panasonic KX-TCA60 Hands Free Headset. Works great with my DEC 6.0 Panasonic phones and Nokia Cell phone. Volume level is OK, but voice is full of static and low.

One of the reasons I wanted the new HD2 handset was because of the headset jack.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by thunderbird » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:37 pm

I just heard today that Ooma is still working on this problem and expect to have a fix in the next few days.

Tom
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 4330
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:07 am

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by Tom » Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:51 pm

We've pinpointed the software change that introduced the headset buzz. Stay tuned.

jrosen
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:51 pm

Re: HD2 volume levels are either too loud or too quiet

Post by jrosen » Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:30 am

I just received my hd2 and the volume is very low..even at MAX setting. The speakerphone volume is ok (could be a little louder).

I've not had complaints from other people about how my voice sounds, but on my end it is way to quiet. I've logged a helpdesk ticket.


Base: 63430
HS: 63427

Post Reply