Using Ooma and a FAX machine

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
jimtruscott
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:46 pm

Using Ooma and a FAX machine

Post by jimtruscott » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:53 pm

I've had Ooma for over a year now but have never been able to get a FAX machine to work, even when it is plugged into the Ooma box directly. Anyone have any success with a FAX machine?
Thanks,
James

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Using Ooma and a FAX machine

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:46 pm

There's lots of posts in this forum regarding fax.
Here's a couple of suggestions:
Add the prefix 99, to all calls going out. (use the comma also).
Only use the HUB.
You may have to set your machine to 9600 baud.

In addition, if you are using the hub to control QOS set it to 0.

There's probably a few other suggestions that I forgot, but that should help you!

Wayne

Pandora
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: Using Ooma and a FAX machine

Post by Pandora » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:01 pm

Wayne,

Heads up, the prefix should be *99, not 99. :)

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Using Ooma and a FAX machine

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:03 pm

oops, thanks. Appreciate the correction.
I was so worried about the comma I forgot the *!

Wayne

Post Reply