Google Voice extension

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
TysAri08
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:01 am
Location: Eagle Mountain, Utah
Contact:

Google Voice extension

Post by TysAri08 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:16 pm

So, I've enabled Google Voice extension in my Ooma setup. There is a checkbox to use Google Voice number as outgoing CallerID. I have that box unchecked, but it is still going out. Anyone else had this happen? Were you able to do anything to get it to not display Google Voice number as your CID?
Customer Since: 01/21/2011
Hardware: Telo
Service: Premier since 01/21/2011
Verizon Port: 01/22/2011- 02/07/2011
Internet: Rapidwave 10Mbps/2Mbps
Phone: Uniden DECT 2188-3

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by lbmofo » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:31 pm

Did you wait 5 min?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

TysAri08
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:01 am
Location: Eagle Mountain, Utah
Contact:

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by TysAri08 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:35 pm

Yes I did. It's been setup for probably a few months now and it's doing that.
Customer Since: 01/21/2011
Hardware: Telo
Service: Premier since 01/21/2011
Verizon Port: 01/22/2011- 02/07/2011
Internet: Rapidwave 10Mbps/2Mbps
Phone: Uniden DECT 2188-3

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by lbmofo » Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:59 am

I tested this, checked, unchecked works as intended. If checked, outgoing is GV number. If not checked, outgoing is main number.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

TysAri08
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:01 am
Location: Eagle Mountain, Utah
Contact:

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by TysAri08 » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:17 pm

lbmofo, can you tell me what version of the software you have? I just can't think of what else would be different. Because for some reason, mine is definitely not working. I've tested it both ways multiple times.
Customer Since: 01/21/2011
Hardware: Telo
Service: Premier since 01/21/2011
Verizon Port: 01/22/2011- 02/07/2011
Internet: Rapidwave 10Mbps/2Mbps
Phone: Uniden DECT 2188-3

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by lbmofo » Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:41 pm

I am thinking it can't be the Telo firmware. Have you tried diabling GV and then enabling again? Re-add the number?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

lutefisk
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:58 pm

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by lutefisk » Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:45 am

Not sure if this is related, but I have had my google voice extensions set up since the beginning and all was well. I had it set up so if I dialed **1 before a call, my google voice number would be displayed on CID. Over the last several days (at least, not sure exactly when it changed) that no longer works. I have tried disabling and enabling GVE. I have tried checking and unchecking that box. etc. No matter what, I now always get my regular number (not GV) on outgoing CID.

Hope this is fixed soon.

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by murphy » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:21 am

It has been reported by ay least two people that **1 is broken.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

lutefisk
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:58 pm

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by lutefisk » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:14 pm

Murphy, thanks for pointed that out. To be clear though, I can't even get it to work making it the default CID without **1.

TysAri08
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:01 am
Location: Eagle Mountain, Utah
Contact:

Re: Google Voice extension

Post by TysAri08 » Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:30 am

I couldn't get it to work matter what I did. So I ended up calling Ooma and they just disabled Google Voice extension on my account.
Customer Since: 01/21/2011
Hardware: Telo
Service: Premier since 01/21/2011
Verizon Port: 01/22/2011- 02/07/2011
Internet: Rapidwave 10Mbps/2Mbps
Phone: Uniden DECT 2188-3

Post Reply